白皮书

以太网供电 (PoE) 成功安装指南

下载 PDF

概述

几年前,有人提出在双绞线线缆中同时实现供电和数据通信的想法,于是以太网供电 (PoE) 诞生了。在这几年之中,涌现了大量通过同一线缆提供和接受电源及数据的设备,并且一直呈增长趋势。

以太网供电 (PoE) 成功安装指南

大多数情况下,使用 PoE 后就无需交流电源插座,这样就省去了重复布线成本和人力费用。同时也省去了设备的独立电源,意味着故障点会更少。并且由于 PoE 使用的电压更低、更安全,相关要求也较低,例如市电供电设备所需的线管和接线盒。

PoE 电路包含三部分:

  • 供电端设备 (PSE),将电力传输到与数据信号相同的线缆。该设备在大多数情况下通常为交换机,当交换机不支持供电时也可能是中跨供电器。
  • 同时承载电力和数据信号的线缆。关于 PoE 的 IEEE 标准中规定了两对和四对双绞线布线系统。
  • 受电端设备 (PD),消耗 PSE 提供的电力

图 1. 基本的 PoE 设计和命名法

在 IEEE 标准的 PoE 实施中,PSE 只有在 PD 发出请求时提供电源。如果 PD 断开连接,则 PSE 将断电。相较于通过插座供电的普通交流电源,PoE 要安全得多。PoE 使用的电压也较低:43 到 57 Vdc。

2003 实施的 802.3af 是首个 PoE 供电标准,通过两对线提供高达 15.4 瓦的功率。2005 实施的 802.3at(也称为 “PoE+”)支持最高 30 W。Cisco 开发了使用全部四对线的“通用 PoE”UPOE,将最大功率提高到了 60 W。2018 年 9 月,IEEE 批准了 802.3bt,将源功率提高到 90 W。

 

  Type 3 (802.3 bt) Type 4 (802.3bt)
Type 1 (802.3af) Type 2 (802.3at)  
PSE Class 1
4 W
Class 2
7 W
Class 3
15.4 W
Class 4
30 W
Class 5
45 W
Class 6
60 W
Class 7
75 W
Class 8
90 W
  仅 2 线对 (Type 1 & 2) 始终 4 线对电源
2 线对或 4 线对 (Type 3 & 4)
PD Class 1
3.84 W
Class 2
6.49 W
Class 3
13 W
Class 4
25.5 W
Class 5
40 W
Class 6
51 W
Class 7
62 W
Class 8
71.3 W
  PoE+ PoE++、UPOE  


图 2:PoE 等级、类型和标准。

 

成功的 PoE 实施分三步:

1. 设备选择

2. 线缆认证

3. 安装和排障

我们来看看各个步骤都需要些什么。

1. 设备选择

虽然 PoE 带来了很多机会,但同时也带来了与标准化相关的大量问题。术语 “PoE” 尚未注册,任何厂商都可以宣布具有 PoE 能力。当前已批准三种 02.3af 和 at 和一种草案 (802.3bt) IE IEEE 标准。这些标准定义了八种不同的功率等级或类别,可通过四种配置实现:Type 1 和 2 使用两个线对,Types 3 和 4 使用四个线对。此外,厂商们还采用了一些术语,例如 PoE+ 和 PoE++ 以及 Cisco 的通用 PoE (UPOE)。虽然这些方法都符合 IEEE 标准,但各个厂商创造的标准之外的其他 PoE 实施方法带来了更多混乱现象。例如,“无源” PoE 实施提供的是“始终就绪”的电源,PSE 和 PD 之间没有协商。其他部署方法则在比 LLDP 协议更高的层中进行协商。现场技术人员甚至设计师都可能会很快被设备的兼容性搞迷惑。

以太网联盟认证计划

为避免这种混乱现象以及提高互操作性,以太网联盟(代表了 90% PSE 交换设备制造商)推出了一项 PoE 认证计划。该计划提供了一种方法,用于认证其产品与其他 IEEE-802.3 标准 PoE 解决方案的互操作性,并以简单明了的方式标注此类产品。

产品认证具有严格规定的过程,并使用经过批准的设备。认证过程可由制造商或第三方实施,例如新罕布什尔大学的互操作性实验室 (UNH-IOL)。PSE 和 PD 设备均可认证。通过该项严格流程的设备可粘贴 EA 认证标识。

PoE 设备的设计师或安装人员只需简单地比较 PSE 和 PD 上的标识,即可确定其兼容性。如果 PSE 的等级等于或高于 PD 的要求,即可保证正常运行。

 

 

图 3. 供电设备(左)和电源设备(右)的以太网联盟标记。

2. 线缆认证

PoE 的设计目的是在标准类别的双绞线结构化布线上运行。然而,在承载高速数据的线缆上增加此类高功率信号,就为布线带来了额外要求。

首先,线缆的整体电阻必须低。如果电阻太高,功率就会分散在 PSE 和 PD 之间,PD 无法接收到足够的功率。

其次,PoE 是通过在两对或四对线对上施加共模电压进行传输的,这意味着电流在两或四根导线之间均匀分配。为此, 线对中各导体的直流电阻必须平衡(相等),且其差将称为直流电阻不平衡。过多的不平衡会使数据信号失真,产生位错误、重新传输,甚至数据链路功能异常。

第三,在 Type 3 和 4 实施中,你需要担心的不仅仅是各线对上的直流电阻不平衡。多个线对间的过大直流电阻不平衡还会严重破坏数据传输,或造成 PoE 停止工作。

IEEE 已经认识到此类电阻测量的重要性,并在 802.3 标准中增加了对线对中环路电阻和电阻不平衡的要求。电信行业协会也在 ANSI/TIA 568.2-D 中增加了这些要求。

遗憾的是,大部分安装都是使用现场测试标准 TIA-1152-A 认证的,这些测量在里面只是可选项。如果端接不一致,即导体在 IDC 内的位置不正确或不一致,会导致直流电阻不平衡。因此,虽然您可以在供应商的线缆上看到直流电阻不平衡的规格,但现场测试确实是保证安装后直流电阻不平衡性能的唯一方法。

使用包含这些电阻测量的线缆认证测试仪(例如 DSX CableAnalyzer™ 系列)可快速而方便地测试线对中和线对间的直流电阻不平衡,保证您部署的线缆设备可用于双和四线对 PoE 应用。

图 4. Versiv 显示线对到线对的电阻不平衡结果。

3. 安装和排障

如果知道 PSE 的能力和 PD 的要求,安装和排障过程就简单得多。遗憾的是,实际工作中,支持 PoE 受电端设备的技术人员可能无法获得这些信息。技术人员很容易检查 EA 认证 PD 的要求,但大多数情况下他们距离 PSE 较远,需要走较长路程返回到电信柜会数据中心才能查看交换机的能力。然后还需要确认连接 PD 的线缆。很多情况下,他们可能无法接触到 PSE,需要连接 IT 团队进行确认。技术人员可能会浪费半天时间来跟踪线缆和查看交换机。

Fluke Networks 的 MicroScanner PoE 旨在解决此类问题,可为技术人员节省大量时间。只需将 MicroScanner PoE 插入线缆,如果已连接到 PSE,将显示链路上可用的功率等级 (0-8)。然后技术人员即可将其与 PD 的要求进行比较,确认是否能够提供足够的功率。

对技术人员来说,MicroScanner PoE 在很多方面都是无价之宝。仪器可以识别端口的速度,支持最高 10 Gbps。速度较慢的端口会限制接入点或摄像机的性能。如果线缆损坏,仪器会显示各线对的长度、潜在的断点或其他故障。线缆也可能被拔出或接错 - MicroScanner PoE 可以作为跟踪线缆的音频源。可以将识别器连接到远端线缆以确定它们的去向。

选择正确的设备、对线缆能力进行认证,然后确保您的技术人员能够检查安装并进行故障诊断,PoE 项目即可顺利实施。

图 5. MicroScanner PoE 可以检测 PSE 提供的功率以及网络速度,并拥有一套线缆测试功能。

White Paper: A Guide to Successful Installation of Power over Ethernet | Fluke Networks

White Paper: A Guide to Successful Installation of Power over Ethernet

Years ago, someone came up with the idea of combining power and data communications in a twisted pair cable and Power over Ethernet (PoE) was born. In the intervening years, a huge array of devices that source and consume power and data through the same cable have been launched with more coming on line all the time.

A Guide to Successful Installation of Power over Ethernet

© Axis Communication. Used by permission.

 

A Guide to Successful Installation of Power over Ethernet

In most cases, using PoE eliminates the need for an AC outlet, eliminating the cost and labor of that duplicative run. It also can eliminate the separate power supply for the device, which means one less point of failure. And since PoE uses lower, safer voltages, it does not need the strict requirements, such as conduit and electrical boxes required by line powered devices.

A PoE circuit is made up of three parts:

  • The Power Sourcing Equipment (PSE) which puts the power on the same cabling as the data signals. This is most typically a switch, or can also be a midspan injector used in instances where the switch is not capable of supplying power.
  • The cabling which carries both the data and the data signals. The IEEE standards for PoE specify two- or four-pair twisted cabling systems.
  • The Powered Device (PD), which consumes the power provided by the PSE

PSE
(Switch)

Cabling

PD

Switch

Cabling

PSE
(Midspan Injector)

Cabling

PD

Figure 1. Basic PoE design and nomenclature

In IEEE standard implementations of PoE, power is sourced by the PSE only after it is requested by the PD. If the PD is disconnected, the PSE will remove power. This makes PoE considerably safer than typical AC power which is always present at the outlet. PoE also uses a lower voltage: 43 to 57 Vdc.

The first PoE standard, 802.3af, was adopted in 2003 and sourced up to 15.4 watts of power over two pairs. Adopted in 2005, 802.3at (also known as “PoE+”) supported up to 30 W. Cisco developed their “Universal PoE” (UPOE) using all four pairs, pushing the maximum power to 60 W. In September 2018, the IEEE approved 802.3bt, pushing the sourced power to 90 W.

 
  Type 3 (802.3 bt) Type 4 (802.3bt)
Type 1 (802.3af) Type 2 (802.3at)  
PSE Class 1
4 W
Class 2
7 W
Class 3
15.4 W
Class 4
30 W
Class 5
45 W
Class 6
60 W
Class 7
75 W
Class 8
90 W
  2-pair only (Type 1 & 2) Always 4-pair power
2-pair or 4-pair (Type 3 & 4)
PD Class 1
3.84 W
Class 2
6.49 W
Class 3
13 W
Class 4
25.5 W
Class 5
40 W
Class 6
51 W
Class 7
62 W
Class 8
71.3 W
  PoE+ PoE++, UPOE  

Figure 2: PoE classes, types and standards.

 

A successful PoE implementation is a three-step process:

  1. Equipment selection
  2. Cable certification
  3. Installation and troubleshooting

Let’s look at what’s required in each step.

1. Equipment Selection

While PoE provides a great opportunity, there is a significant issue around standardization. The term “PoE” is not registered, and any vendor can claim PoE capabilities. There are currently three approved 02.3af and at) and one draft (802.3bt) IE IEEE standards. These standards define eight different wattage levels or classes, which can be delivered via four configurations: Type 1 and 2 which use two pairs and Types 3 and 4 which use four pairs. Further, vendors have adopted some terms, such as PoE+ and PoE++ as well as Cisco’s Universal PoE (UPOE). And while these approaches all fit within the three IEEE standards, there is further confusion with vendors creating other PoE implementations that are outside of the standards. For example, “passive” PoE implementations provide “always on” power which is not negotiated between the PSE and PD. Other implementations negotiate power levels in higher layers than the LLDP protocol. Techs in the field and even designers can become quickly confused about what will work with what.

Ethernet Alliance Certification Program

To cut through this confusion and enhance interoperability, the Ethernet Alliance, a consortium of manufacturers representing providers of ninety percent of PSE switching equipment, has announced a PoE Certification Program. This program provides a methodology for certifying their products for interoperability with other IEEE-802.3-based PoE solutions and provides simple labeling of such products.

Certification of the products is defined by a precisely defined process using approved equipment. This may be conducted by manufacturers or third parties, such as the University of New Hampshire’s Interoperability Laboratory (UNH-IOL). Both PSE and PD equipment may be certified. Equipment that passes this rigorous process may be labeled with the EA approved marks as shown.

Designers or installers of PoE equipment can simply compare the marks on the PSE and PD to determine compatibility. If the rating of the PSE is equal to or higher than the requirements of the PD, functionality is assured.

Figure 3. Ethernet Alliance marks for Powered Devices (left) and Power Sourcing Equipment (right).

2. Cable Certification

PoE is designed to run over standard category twisted pair structured cabling. However, adding these high-power signals to a cable carrying high-speed data places some additional requirements on the cabling.

First, the overall resistance of the cable must be low. If it’s too high, the power will dissipate between the PSE and the PD, and the PD won’t receive adequate power.

Second, PoE is transmitted by applying a common-mode voltage on two or four pairs—meaning the current is evenly split between the two or four conductors. For this to happen, the DC resistance of each conductor in the pair must be balanced (equal), and any difference is referred to as DC resistance unbalance. Too much unbalance can distort data signals, causing bit errors, retransmits and even nonfunctioning data links.

Third, in Types 3, and 4 implementations, it is no longer just the DC resistance unbalance on each pair you need to worry about. Excessive DC resistance unbalance between multiple pairs can also wreak havoc on data transmission or cause PoE to stop working.

The IEEE has recognized the importance of these resistance measurements and has included requirements for loop resistance and resistance unbalance within a pair in the 802.3 standard. The Telecommunications Industry Association has, as well, including them in ANSI/TIA 568.2-D.

Unfortunately, most installations are certified using the field-testing standard TIA-1152-A, which includes these measurements only as optional. Inconsistent terminations where individual conductors are not properly and consistently seated within IDCs can cause DC resistance unbalance. So while you may see a DC resistance unbalance specification on a vendor’s cable, field testing is really the only way to ensure DC resistance unbalance performance after installation.

Using a cable certification tester which includes these resistance measurements (such as the Fluke Networks DSX CableAnalyzer™ Series) allows you to quickly and easily test DC resistance unbalance within a pair and between pairs, so you can rest assured that the cable plant you deploy will perform in two- and four-pair PoE applications.

Figure 4. Versiv display of pair-to-pair resistance unbalance results.

3. Installation and Troubleshooting

Knowing the capacity of the PSE and the requirements of the PD make installation and troubleshooting much simpler. Unfortunately, in the real world, technicians supporting PoE powered devices may not have access to that information. They can easily check the requirements of a EA Certified PD, but in most cases, the tech working quite a distance from the PSE, so they’re faced with a long walk back to the telecommunications closet or data center to find out the capabilities of the switch. Then they’re faced with figuring out which cable goes to their PD. In many instances, they might not have access to the PSE and would need to contact the IT team to find out. A tech could waste half a day tracking the cable and accessing the switch.

Fluke Networks’ MicroScanner PoE was designed to solve this problem and save the tech hours of frustration. Simply plug the MicroScanner PoE into the cable, and if it’s connected to a PSE, it will display the class (0-8) of power available on the link. The tech can then compare that to the requirements of the PD and know if sufficient power will be available.

The MicroScanner PoE is invaluable to the tech in many other ways. It will identify the speed of the port up to 10 Gbps. A slow port may limit the performance of an access point or camera. If the cable has been damaged, it displays the length of each pair, potential breaks or other failures. Cables can also be unplugged or misrouted – the MicroScanner PoE can act as a tone source for tracing the cable. Identifiers can be connected to remote cables to determine where they go.

Pick the right equipment, certify the cable’s capable and then make sure your tech can check and troubleshoot the installation and your PoE project will go smoothly.

Figure 5. The MicroScanner PoE can detect the power offered by the PSE plus the network’s speed, and features a suite of cable testing features.