Wi-Fi 布线

Wi-Fi 布线概述

在过去十年甚至更长时间里,Wi-Fi 网络的支持者认为铜缆网络终将结束。虽然 Wi-Fi 非常受欢迎并且发展迅速,但铜缆网络也在不断发展,尽管速度较慢。其中部分原因就是,正如一位同事曾经告诉过我的,“无线中有很多线”。我们来探索一下您需要什么样的线来支持最新的无线网络。

在本页上

工作机会

如果您担任这些职位,此类信息尤其有用

网络工程师
网络布线承包商和安装人员

了解 Wi-Fi 布线

更快的 Wi-Fi 的新标准

目前广泛部署的最先进的 Wi-Fi 系统使用的是 IEEE 802.11ac 标准。该标准发布于 2013 年,但实际上并没有那么过时。标准中有两种实现方式:Wave 1,最大理论数据速率高达 1.3 Gbps,和 Wave 2,可达到 6.9 Gbps。Wave 2 设备从 2016 年开始发货。一些供应商已经提供可以达到 11 Gbps 速度的 802.11ax 设备。

在现实世界中,争用、干扰和距离限制将把这些技术的吞吐量限制到其理论最大值的 50%。即便如此,这些技术也可以轻松超过 1 Gbps —— 只要连接到接入点的线提供支持。

因此,如果一个 G 不够,那么这些高性能 Wi-Fi 接入点的明显选择就是 10 G,就是意味着铜缆,10GBASE-T。这将使您的 Wi-Fi 系统能够再坚持十年甚至更长时间。10GBASE-T 需要 6A 类(如果长度限制为 30 米,则需要 6 类)以进行操作。而这对于现有设施是一个问题,因为外面安装的大多数线缆都是 5e 和 6 类。将现有线缆设备升级到 6A 标准是一项昂贵且耗时的工作。

旧线缆发挥新作用

Versiv 工具包配置程序

如何选用 Versiv?

超过 45 家网络和线缆公司聚集在一起,建立了 NBASE-T 联盟并解决这个问题。结果就是,IEEE 802.3bz 标准在 2016 年年末被采用,允许 2.5 和 5 Gbps 网络在 6 和 5e 类线缆上运行(有一些限制)。这使客户可以将其网络升级到数千兆位速率,而无需更换其线缆基础设施。这证明了通过安装和认证类别线缆提前规划的好处,可以让您的安装甚至为安装时没有想到的功能做好准备。

802.3bz 定义了两种通信技术:2.5GBASE-T 和 5GBASE-T。前者可以支持所有 Wave 1 802.11ac 实施,以及一些 Wave 2,而后者可以支持 Wave 2 甚至仍然待批准的 802.11ax。NBASE-T 实施是为了与当前的 BASE 标准共存,使用相同的物理接口并支持自动协商。这意味着用户可以部署 NBASE-T 交换机来支持 NBASE-T 设备,但它也可以与现有的 1000BASE-T 设备配合使用。这种增量部署可以减少成本和中断。各种支持 NBASE-T 的产品列表请见 https://www.nbaset.org/technology/nbaset-products/,同时每天还有更多产品正在推出。

附属细则

现在,让我们来看看上面提到的限制。虽然聪明的 NBASE-T 设计师能够将其设计为可在大多数 5e 类和 6 类线缆上运行,但在某些情况下,线缆的物理限制会给他们带来(至少在合理的价格点)无法解决的物理问题。这个问题与所谓的“外部串扰”有关 —— 信号从一根四线对线缆传输到相邻的四对线缆。当一对线缆在很长的距离相互靠近时,传输的信号有更多相互干扰的机会,问题就会凸现出来。即使安装的布线已经过认证,这也可能成为问题,因为测试外部串扰需要额外的成本和精力,所以大多数线缆都没有针对外部串扰的测试。因为它在 1000BASE-T 中很少会成为问题,所以直到现在还没有人真正关心过。

NBASE-T 中有处理线缆性能问题的策略。如果线缆难以处理例如 5 Gbps,则各端的设备会“降档”到 2.5 Gbps。这可能会解决问题,但不是以您想要的方式。那么,您如何保证您的线缆可以支持最高的速度呢?

如上所述,线缆彼此靠近的距离越长,外部串扰就越成问题。包在大而紧凑、整齐的线束中的线缆就是会发现这个问题的地方。为此,NBASE-T 联盟制定了右边的图表。它显示使用 6 类线缆时出现问题的风险很小,但如果 6 类线缆捆绑在一起超过 75 米,5GBASE-T 可能会出现问题。对于 5e 类设备,超过 50 米的线束可能会造成问题,超过 75 m 的线束可能无法支持 5GBASE-T。有三种方法可以最大程度地降低风险:

  • 从物理上分离设备(跳接)线。设备线上发射信号最强且接收信号最弱的地方,串扰问题最严重。
  • 松绑水平线缆。将它展开到电缆架上是最好的方法 —— 虽然不是很美观。
  • 将 NBASE-T 连接移动到不相邻的配线架位置。

您也可以咨询线缆专业人员,他们可以测试您的线缆是否有外部串扰。由于只需要检查运行 NBASE-T 的线缆,测试额外占用的几分钟时间不会造成很大延迟。您可在 https://www.nbaset.org/library/white-paper-2/ 阅读更多关于此主题的信息

为接入点加电

以 IEEE 标准 802.3 af、at 和即将发布的 bt 为基础的以太网供电将电源和数据通信综合到了同一根四线对上。大多数工业设备的无线接入点都使用 PoE 供电,这样不再需要安装交流电源插座和单独的电源供应器。安装人员在功率水平方面唯一需要注意的就是确保供电设备(在大多数情况下是交换机)与接入点兼容并且可以提供足够的电力。PoE 有许多不同的版本,其中一些符合这些标准,一些不符合。不同的标准会为接入点提供不同级别的最大功率:802.3af 为 13 W,802.3at 为 25.5 W,802.3bt 为 71W。好消息是,大多数接入点不需要很多电力,因此大多数接入点都可以使用低功率电源。

还有一个更微妙的问题与线缆有关。在 CAT 线缆上提供电源要求线缆的电阻要低 —— 如果电阻太大,电源会在到达接入点之前消耗掉。线对之间以及一对线之内的电阻也需要平衡 —— 如果太不平衡,则电源会使接收器的变压器饱和并干扰数据传输。如果您运行的是 NBASE-T 等高速网络,则最后一个问题会尤其严重。

好消息是,CAT 线缆经过设计和测试可满足严格的电阻要求,因此不太可能成为问题的根源。但是,错误的安装技术可能会增加链路的电阻而现场测试标准,如 TIA-1152-A,认证时并不需要测量电阻。为了避免出现这些问题,建议现场测试包含这些可选测量。

简化连接

现在我们摆脱了讨厌的电源问题,我们再来看看如何简化安装。就接入点来说,传统的墙板和跳接线并不是必需的。和办公室计算机不同,它不会经常移动,因此墙板和跳接线并不是必要的成本和劳动力。

BICSI 和 TIA 认识到了这个问题,然后定义了模块化插头端接链路 (MPTL),它从一个配线架开始,到一个现场端接的 "RJ-45" 插头结束,然后该插头可以直接插入接入点,从而省去了配线架和设备线。为了支持此标准,各制造商都发布了现场端接模块化插头。如果您熟悉 RJ-45 跳线式插头的安装,那么您肯定会很高兴听到这些新设计更易于使用。

新的 ANSI-TIA-568.2-D 标准包含此链路的测试定义,而测试仪制造商正在为其提供支持。需要注意的一点是,与典型的通道测量不同,MPTL 包括现场安装的模块化插头的性能,这意味着测试人员还需要一个可选适配器(通常是专为跳接线设计的适配器)来测试该部分链接。好消息是,该适配器的成本可能低于安装 MPTL 时为此节省的成本。

联系我们

美国/加拿大:1-800-283-5853
国际:1-425-446-4519
[email protected]
金牌维护与支持项目

相关产品

                

                   

Versiv 工具包配置程序

                   

如何选用 Versiv

Cabling for Wi-Fi | www.flukenetworks.com

Cabling for Wi-Fi

 

Cabling for Wi-Fi

Over the last decade or more, proponents of Wi-Fi networking have promised the end of copper-based networks. While Wi-Fi is hugely popular and growing rapidly, copper networks still keep growing, although more slowly. Part of the reason is that, as a colleague once told me, “there is a lot of wire in wireless”. Let’s explore what kind of wire you’ll need to support the latest in wireless.

New Standards for Faster Wi-Fi

The most advanced Wi-Fi systems widely deployed today are based on the IEEE 802.11ac standard. The standard was published in 2013, but it’s actually not as old as that implies. Within the standard are two implementations, Wave 1, with maximum theoretical data rates of up to 1.3 Gbps, and Wave 2, which can reach 6.9 Gbps. Wave 2 devices started shipping in 2016. Some vendors are already offering 802.11ax devices which can hit speeds of 11 Gbps.

In the real world, contention, interference, and distance limitations will limit these technologies to throughput of something like 50% of their theoretical maximums. Even so, these technologies can easily exceed 1 Gbps – as long as the wire connected to the access point can support it.

So, if one gig won’t cut it, the obvious choice for wired support for these high performance Wi-Fi access points would be ten gig, which means for copper, 10GBASE-T. That will keep your Wi-Fi system humming for another decade or maybe more. 10GBASE-T requires Category 6A to operate (or Category 6 if the run is limited to 30 meters). And that’s a problem in existing facilities, because the majority of the installed cabling out there is Category 5e and 6. Upgrading an existing cabling plant to 6A compliance is a costly and time-consuming effort.

Old Cables Get New Tricks

Versiv Kit Configurator

How will you be using your Versiv?

A group of more than forty-five networking and cabling companies came together to found the NBASE-T Alliance and address this problem. The result, the IEEE 802.3bz standard, was adopted in late 2016 and allows for operation of 2.5 and 5 Gbps networks over Category 6 and 5e cabling (with some limitations). This allows customers to upgrade their networks to multi-gigabit rates without replacing their cabling infrastructure. This demonstrates the benefits of planning ahead by installing and certifying category cabling, so that your installation is ready for capabilities that aren’t even thought of when the cabling plant is built.

Two communications technologies are defined by 802.3bz: 2.5GBASE-T and 5GBASE-T. The former can support all Wave 1 802.11ac implementations, as well as some Wave 2, while the latter can support Wave2 and even the still-to-be approved 802.11ax. The NBASE-T implementations are designed to coexist with current BASE standards, using the same physical interface and supporting autonegotiation. That means a user can deploy an NBASE-T switch to support NBASE-T devices, but it will also work with existing 1000BASE-T devices. This sort of incremental deployment reduces costs and disruptions. An extensive list of products that support NBASE-T can be found at https://www.nbaset.org/technology/nbaset-products/, with more coming every day.

The Fine Print

Now, let’s get to the limitations noted above. While the clever designers of NBASE-T were able to design it to work on most Cat 5e and Cat 6 cables, there are some cases where the physical limitations of the cabling present a physics problem they could not solve (at least at a reasonable price point). The problem is related to what’s known as “Alien Crosstalk” – signals that travel from one four-pair cable to an adjacent four-pair cable. The problem manifests itself when a pair of cables are close together for a long distance, providing more opportunity for the traveling signals to interfere with one another. This can be a problem even when installed cabling has been certified, because most cabling is not tested for Alien Crosstalk, due to the extra cost and effort involved. Since it’s rarely a problem in 1000BASE-T, no one really cared until now.

NBASE-T includes a strategy for dealing with cable performance issues. If the cable is having trouble handling, say, 5 Gbps, the devices at each end will just “downshift” to 2.5 Gbps. That will likely solve the problem, but perhaps not in the way you want. So how do you ensure your cable will support the highest speeds?

As noted above, the more distance over which cables are kept near one another, the more that Alien Crosstalk will become an issue. Cables wrapped in large, tight, neat looking bundles are where you’ll find this problem. To that end, the NBASE-T alliance has created the chart at right. It shows that there is very little risk of problems when using Category 6 cabling, although problems may occur in 5GBASE-T if Cat 6 cables are bundled together for more than 75 meters. For Category 5e installations, bundles over 50 meters may cause problems, and those over 75 m are at high risk of failure to support 5GBASE-T. There are three ways this risk can be minimized:

  • Physically separate the equipment (patch) cords. Crosstalk problems are greatest where the transmit signals are strongest and the receive signals are weakest – at the equipment cords.
  • Unbundle the horizontal cabling. Spreading it out in cable trays is the best approach – even if it’s not as pretty.
  • Move the NBASE-T connections to non-adjacent patch panel positions.

You can also consult with a cabling professional, who can test your cables for Alien Crosstalk. Since only the cables running NBASE-T need to be checked, the extra few minutes of testing won’t add up to much. You can read more about this topic at https://www.nbaset.org/library/white-paper-2/

Powering Your Access Points

Power over Ethernet, based on IEEE standards 802.3 af, at, and soon-to-be published bt, combines power and data communications into the same four-pair cable. Most wireless access points for commercial installations are powered using PoE, eliminating the need to install an AC outlet and mount a separate power supply. The only thing installers need to watch for when it comes to power levels is to make sure that the power sourcing equipment (in most cases, the switch) is compatible with the access point and can supply adequate power. There are many different versions of PoE, some of which comply with these standards and some which don’t. And the different standards offer different levels of maximum power for access points: 13 W for 802.3af, 25.5 W for 802.3at and 71W for 802.3bt. The good news is that most AP’s don’t need a lot of power, so most will work with low power sources.

A more subtle problem relates to the cabling. Supplying power over category cabling requires that the resistance of the cabling be low – too much resistance and the power will dissipate before it gets to the access point. The resistance also needs to be balanced both between pairs and within a pair – if it’s too far out of balance, the power will saturate the receiver’s transformers and interfere with data transmissions. This last problem is especially serious when you are running high speed networks such as NBASE-T.

The good news is that category cable is designed and tested to meet strict resistance requirements, so it’s not likely to be a source of problems. However, faulty installation techniques may add resistance to the link. And field testing standards, such as TIA-1152-A, don’t require resistance measurements for certification. To protect against these problems, it’s recommended that field testing include these optional measurements.

Simplifying the Connection

Now that we’re rid of the pesky power supply, let’s see about streamlining the installation even more. A traditional wall plate and patch cord isn’t really necessary in the case of an access point. Unlike an office PC, it won’t be moving on a regular basis, so the wall plate and patch cord are unnecessary costs and labor.



BICSI and the TIA recognized this issue and defined the Modular Plug Terminated Link (MPTL) which starts in a patch panel and ends with a field terminated “RJ-45” plug, which can plug directly into the access point, eliminating the patch panel and equipment cord. A variety of manufacturers have released field terminated modular plugs to support this standard. If you’re familiar with installing RJ-45 patch cord style plugs, you’ll be happy to hear that these new designs are much easier to work with.

The new ANSI-TIA-568.2-D standard includes a definition for testing this link, and tester manufacturers are providing support for it. One thing to be aware of is that fact that, unlike a typical channel measurement, the MPTL includes the performance of that field-installed modular plug, which means that tester will need an optional adapter (typically one designed for patch cords) for testing that part of the link. The good news is that the cost of that adapter is probably less than what you’ll save on a single MPTL installation.

 

Contact Us

U.S. / Canada: 1-800-283-5853
International: 1-425-446-4519