线缆测试

 

线缆测试

无论是安装新的线缆还是为现有的线缆解决问题,线缆测试在这些过程中均占有非常重要的角色。常见的数据通信电缆包括长度、布线图、衰减、NEXT、直流回路电阻以及回波损耗的测试。

随着网络的发展,布线基础设施的要求也要随之提高才能支持网络。新的标准不断出台,为布线专业人员提供铜缆和光缆安装、测试、故障诊断及认证的指导原则。无论是要部署 100BASE-TX、100BASE-TX 还是 1000BASE-T 中的任何技术,都必须满足特定的要求并避免可能发生的问题。随着 10GBASE-T 的推出,与布线和线缆测试的最新推广保持并驾齐驱就变得更为重要了。

线缆测试确保已安装的布线可以达到预期的传输能力,以支持用户期待的数据通信。

线缆测试器的类型



Cable Tester with DSX 5000 Cable Analyzer 线缆测试仪器的设计让仪器具备各种具有针对性的功能,可以满足特定场合的工作任务。不同的仪器在价格、性能、应用上各有不同。所有仪器均可根据在现场必须执行的任务而分类成三个等级:认证、鉴定或检验。虽然这些测试工具的功能在彼此之间有重复的现象,但是每个等级都可以解决独特的测试需求,并在操作上提供不同程度的信心。

线缆测试水平



认证 — 保证布线系统符合业界标准



认证仪器是唯一可以根据行业标准对线缆提供是否“通过”或“不通过”信息的工具。北美市场最受欢迎的行业标准组织是电信产业协会 (TIA),该协会处理结构化布线的传输能力。在国际市场上,国际标准化组织的国际电工委员会 (ISO/IEC) 为电信线缆创建并且维护各种标准。

认证测试工具可以确定通路符合类别 (TIA) 或种类 (ISO) 的标准,例如 6 类或 E 类,这些标准是与具体网络技术无关的。这使其更加“面向未来”,因为可以根据这些标准的设计出现新网络技术,从而能够被安装的认证线缆所支持。认证是许多结构化布线制造商在为新的布线安装提供保修前必须完成的最后步骤。DSX CableAnalyzer™ 系列已经成为了数据通信市场首屈一指的认证测试仪,是专业安装人员以及网络基础设施工作人员的最佳选择。
Versiv 工具包配置程序

如何选用 Versiv?

Versiv 工具包配置说明



鉴定-可以确定现有的布线是否能够支持特定的网络速度和技术



认证测试仪可以满足不需要安装新线缆但需要辨别现有网络问题网络技师的需求。鉴定资格测试器可以执行各种测试,以判断现有的布线是否支持 “Fast Ethernet” (100BASE-TX)、互联网语音协议 (VoIP),或者千兆以太网等技术。此外,这些测试工还可以让网络工程人员迅速找出布线的问题而不影响网络协议的使用或立即着手解决问题。合格的测试工具,如 CableIQ™ Qualification Tester,包括验证测试工具的所有功能,并且更为强大,可以执行布线带宽的评估并确定影响带宽的故障。鉴定测试工具不执行任何行业标准中规定的各种测试,所以不是“认证工具”。

检验-检验是否正确连接线缆



检验测试工具执行基本连通性的职能,确保所有布线中的线缆都正确地连接到终端,而不与其他导电物连接。在 双绞线布线中,一定要维护线缆的配对。较好的检验测试工具也可以确认线缆的配对,并且查出类似“分拆线对”的安装瑕疵。检验测试工具还可以利用音频发生器找到布线链路,协助故障处理。检验测试工具有时还会包括其他功能,例如,时间领域反射仪 (TDR)。这项功能可以确定线缆的长度或到断点或短路的距离。这些测试工具不会提供任何关于布线带宽或布线是否适用于高速数据通信功能的信息。

 

联系我们

美国/加拿大:1-800-283-5853
国际:1-425-446-4519
 
 
Powered By OneLink

Cable Testing

Whether installing new cable, or troubleshooting existing cable, cable testing plays an important role in the process. Common tests for datacom cabling include length, wiremap, attenuation, NEXT, DC loop resistance, and return loss.

As networks evolve, so do the requirements of the cabling infrastructure to support them. New standards are continuously being developed to provide guidelines for cabling professionals when installing, testing, troubleshooting, and certifying either copper and fiber. Whether it's 10BASE-T, 100BASE-TX or 1000BASE-T, there are specific requirements and potential pitfalls in implementing these technologies. And 10GBASE-T, it becomes even more critical to keep current with the latest proliferations in cabling and cable testing.

Cable testing provides a level of assurance that the installed cabling links provide the desired transmission capability to support the data communication desired by the users.

Types of Cable Testers
Cable test instruments are designed with a variety of focused features for particular field tasks. They vary in price, performance, and application. Depending on the task the field test instrument performs, it can be classified into one of the three hierarchical groups: certification, qualification, or verification. While some features overlap between test tools, each group answers a unique testing need and provides a different level of operational assurance.

Levels of Cable Testing
Certification – guarantees cabling system compliance to industry standards
Certification instruments are the only tools that provide “Pass” or “Fail” information in accordance with industry standards. In the North America market, the prevalent industry standards organization dealing with the transmission capabilities of structured cabling, is the Telecommunications Industry Association (TIA). In the international markets, the Electro-technical commission of the International Organization for Standards (ISO/IEC) creates and maintains standards for telecommunication cabling.

Certification test tools determine whether a link is compliant with a category (TIA) or class (ISO); for example, category 6 or class E. Certification is the final step required by many structured cabling manufacturers to grant their warranties for a new cabling installation. The DSX-5000 CableAnalyzer™ has become the premier certification tester in the market for professional data communication installers, as well as network infrastructure staffs.

Qualification – determines if an existing cabling link can support certain network speeds and technologies
Qualification is a new category of testers in the industry that meets the emerging needs of network technicians who do not install new cabling, but need to troubleshoot operating networks. Qualification testers perform tests that decide whether an existing cabling link will support the requirements for “Fast Ethernet” (100BASE-TX), Voice over Internet Protocol (VoIP), or Gigabit Ethernet. These test tools furthermore allow the network technician to quickly isolate cabling problems from network protocol or addressing problems. Qualification test tools, such as CableIQ™ Qualification Tester, include all the capabilities of verification test tools but they are more powerful in that they perform an assessment of the cabling bandwidth and identify defects that affect the bandwidth. Qualification testers do not execute the battery of tests prescribed by the standards to be considered a “certification tool.”

Verification – verifies that cable is connected correctly
Verification test tools perform basic continuity functions, they assure that all wires in a cabling link are connected to the proper termination points and not to any other conductors. In twisted pair cabling, it is critical to maintain the proper pairing of the wires. Better verification test tools also verify wire pairing and detect installation defects like “split pairs”. Verification test tools may also assist in troubleshooting by providing a toner to locate a cabling link. Verification tools sometimes include additional features such as a Time Domain Reflectometer (TDR) to determine length of a cable or distance to a break or short circuit. These test tools do not provide any information on bandwidth or suitability for high-speed data communication.

Cable Testing

Related Products

Related Resources

For Solution or Product Advice:
U.S. / Canada: 1-800-283-5853
International: 1-425-446-4519
info@flukenetworks.com

Gold Maintenance and Support Program