网络工程师最佳实践、网络工具和解决方案

支持属于网络工程师的工作范围的企业网络,此网络与支持它的铜或光纤基础架构一样性能良好。网络工程师及其布线厂区需要为支持最新网络技术做好准备。网络工程师作为任何性能问题的最终解决者,需要拥有必要的工具来确定问题所在 — 在网络中还是在其他地方。

高性能访问网络的布线

要为用户提供对高速以太网的访问权限,需要安装能够支持该做法的布线。最常用的以太网布线标准由电信行业协会 (TIA) 和国际标准化组织 (ISO) 制定推广。这些标准提供了对于布线、连接器、已安装链路和测试的要求。仅通过安装满足标准的布线和连接器无法保证安装符合标准。为使已安装的链路经过认证满足特定标准,该链路必须满足以下三个准则。首先,布线和连接硬件都必须满足相关标准。其次,安装过程必须正确且符合相关标准,以免降低链路性能。第三,该链路必须通过由合规的现场测试仪进行的测试。

布线标准*

所支持的网络标准**

TIA

ISO

10BASE-T

100BASE-TX

1000BASE-T

10GBASE-T

25/40GBASE-T

Cat 5

 

X

X

 

 

 

Cat 5e

D 级

X

X

X

 

 

Cat 6

E 级

X

X

X

(最大 35 m)

 

Cat 6A

EA

X

X

X

X

 

Cat 8

I、II 级

X

X

X

X

(最大 30 m)

* TIA 和 ISO 标准不一定完全等效
**除非特别说明,否则支持 100 米信道

无线以太网和布线

由于功能日益强大的移动设备的快速增加,企业网络在满足不断上升的带宽需求方面力不从心。采用高级无线连接技术(如 802.11ac Wi- Fi(理论速度超过 2 Gpbs)和小型基站)要求网络访问速度必须超过其设计极限 1 Gbps。

升级至 10GBASE-T 可解决此问题,但已安装的布线多数为 Cat 5e/D 级,因此需将其更换为 Cat 6A 或更好的布线,这个建议的成本很高。为解决此问题,成立了 NBASE-T 联盟,其目标是为现有的企业网络注入新活力。该联盟已发布规范,在企业网络中使用大型、已安装的 5e、6 和 6A 类基站以及 6A 铜线时,该规范定义了 2.5 和 5 千兆位/秒 (Gb/s) 的速度,长度最长可达 100 米。但是,并非安装的所有 Cat 5e 布线都支持 NBASE-T 技术,因此建议根据这些标准对布线进行认证,以免在发现新 Wi-Fi 安装时出现代价很高的故障。

以太网供电

对于在天花板、大厅、楼梯井和其他遥远区域部署的无线访问点、IP 电话和其他网络设备,本地电力并非随时可用。在这些设备附近增加电力出口可能非常困难,并且成本极高。为什么不通过相同的线缆为这些设备同时提供网络连接和电力呢?PoE 技术解决了这一问题。PoE 技术旨在使用现有的数据通信布线为网络设备供电。多个 PoE 标准可提供最高达 25.5 瓦特的电力,而非标准方案可提供 60 瓦特或更多电力。

但是,并非每根线缆都可以支持每个级别的电力。更糟糕的是,许多线缆会间歇性供电,从而产生很难解决的问题。避免这些问题的最简单方法是对线缆进行认证,确保其满足相关标准。专业测量(例如在 DSX 系列中发现的电阻不平衡)对于解决这些问题非常有价值。

光纤性能 - MPO

随着大数据的增加、虚拟化以及数据中心光纤主干链路带宽速度的提高(可达 40 甚至 100 Gbps),现在多数数据中心都在多芯插拔式 (MPO) 连接器解决方案的基础上进行标准化。尽管预端接的 MPO 光纤线缆由供应商生产并进行测试,符合 ANSI/TIA 和国际标准,但许多因素都可能会影响性能。安装可能损坏线缆。MPO 连接器比双向连接器难于清洁。MPO 连接器的表面区域比双向连接器大得多,因此在清洁过程中容易将一个光纤上的污染物移至同一阵列中的其他光纤。40 和 100 Gbps MPO 光纤应用的损耗预算也低很多,因此确保最高的测试精度至关重要。

现场测试是确保 MPO 链路符合应用性能需求的唯一方式。但是,用双向测试仪测试 12 芯 MPO 光纤链路极其耗时,需要大约 15 个步骤以及 3 跳线方法,还要使用 MPO 至 LC 的尾纤绳来将 12 芯线缆分隔为单个光纤信道。

带有板载 MPO 连接器的测试仪解决了 MPO 测试中的复杂性、时间和不一致性问题,因此不必使用尾纤绳或暗盒。Fluke Networks 的 MultiFiber Pro 是第一台提供此功能的测试仪,它能够同时扫描所有 12 芯并以易读的条形图形式显示测试结果。MultiFiber Pro 甚至能够识别 MPO 的每个芯,提供每个芯的更精确数据并进行报告,以改进 MPO 连接器的确认和故障排除。

预防问题 – 资格与认证

在安装线缆或升级网络时测试线缆是预防问题的最佳方式。对已安装布线进行测试的方法有两种。

资格测试确定布线是否有资格执行某些操作 — 换言之,支持特定网络速度或应用。尽管“通过”认证测试也最终表明按标准支持某一网络速度或应用的能力,但资格测试不能正式确定布线链路符合标准。资格测试可用于确定链路是否支持 1000BASE-T、10GBASE-T、VoIP、PoE 或其他应用。

认证测试通常由 amd 要求的初始安装人员来执行,以便得到制造商的保修。此过程根据相关标准组织概述的、定义明确的参数来确定链路是否符合特定线缆类别或级别。例如,认证测试将确定链路是否符合电信行业协会 6A 类或国际标准化组织 EA 级标准。为了认证链路是否符合标准,认证测试仪必须对该标准要求的所有特定参数进行测试。对于铜线,其中包括超出长度限制、连续性和接线图测试等参数。我们将讨论以下参数:插入损耗、返回损耗、近端串音 (NEXT)、功率加总 NEXT、同水准远端串音 (ELFEXT)、衰减串扰比 (ACR) 等。对于光纤,意味着测试连续性、极性、长度和插入损耗(第 1 层)或反向反射、反射比、光波返回损耗(第 2 层)等。

预防问题 - 记录与报告

如果没有举证责任,则对布线安装进行认证不代表任何含义。记录结果是可确保安装责任性和完整性、解决争议并实现高效故障排除的唯一真实方法。

即使客户或制造商的担保不要求记录的测试结果,记录仍然是最佳做法并且可为您提供最佳保护。如果您认证的布线安装后来出现故障,并且您没有记录来进行证明,那么如何通过其他途径证明在您完成作业时布线正常并且满足规范?

有了今天的记录软件,没有借口跳过这个关键的最后一步。在报告中包含绘图数据是个不错的主意。实际认证测试需要已测量测试参数的图形描述,制造商保修通常也必须要求此项。这些图形显示有关布线性能的有价值信息,可作为用于故障排除的重要工具。

预防问题 – 标记

如果没有标记,您的记录以后将毫无用处。ANSI-TIA/EIA 606A 标记标准的存在是有原因的,并且与记录密切相关。因此,每个工作区域出口都必须标记楼层、电信机房、接线面板及其源自的端口。

如果您要在以后的某个时间对特定链路进行故障排除并检查其最初的测试结果,您将需要该链路在客户位置的标记与记录相对应。实际上,606A 标准指出,没有标记的记录和没有记录的标记不等于管理。

访问网络的故障排除

随着布线逐渐成为网络故障的主要原因,拥有合适的工具和知识可以最大程度地减少网络中断。有了合适的工具,即使不是专家,也可以轻松向下跟踪棘手的问题。

最基本的线缆测试工具执行确认,确保所有在布线链路中的线缆都正确地连接到端点上,而不与其他任何导电物连接。较好的检验测试工具也可以确认线缆的配对,并且查出类似“分拆线对”的安装瑕疵。确认测试也可以辅助进行故障排除,方法是提供增色剂来定位布线链路或提供时域反射计 (TDR) 来确定线缆的长度或到断路或短路的距离。

接下来是资格测试工具(如 CableIQ™ Qualification Tester),其包括验证测试工具的所有功能,但它们可以执行布线带宽的评估并确定影响带宽的故障,功能更强大。

认证工具是最精细的工具,可根据行业标准提供“通过”或“不通过”信息。这些工具还可以帮助排除可能导致 PoE 问题的高难度问题,如不平衡。

预防问题 - 光纤清洁与检查

随着链路的数据传输速率日益提高,要求损耗预算也要不断降低,因此,光纤检查和清洁的重要性与日俱增。由于对整体光损耗的容许误差越来越小,适配器的衰减值肯定比以往要求更小。通过在安装或移动、更改时正确检查并在必要时清洁光纤,可以实现这一目标。

光学和视频范围都可显示可对光纤通信造成严重破坏的污染物或损坏。光学显微镜结合了物镜透镜和目镜透镜,因此可以直接通过设备检查端面。视频显微镜包含光学探头和用于查看探头图像的显示屏。探头设计得很小,使其可以到达位置难以接近的端口

大多数人都有他们自己的方法来清洁端面,其中包括一些不太理想的方法,例如使用罐装空气喷洗光缆或使用异丙醇 (IPA) 进行清洗。光纤专用溶剂不仅可以快速溶解沾染在光纤端面上的任何污染,还具有合适的蒸发率,既有时间发挥作用,又能在连接前完全蒸发。单击清洁剂,任何人均可轻松、快速地执行基本清洁工作。

排除光纤网络故障

对光纤问题进行故障排除需要专门设备,其中既涵盖非常基础的设备,又包括高度复杂的设备。许多网络工程师因设备的成本和复杂性不投资购买设备,而是雇佣专家来对光纤问题进行故障排除。但是,现在提供可降低成本的较新工具,对于临时用户而言足够简单,因此可以降低成本并等待专家。

用于测试光纤的最常见工具是光源和功率计的组合。此工具对用于测量光纤功率在链路长度范围内的损耗。如果损耗过大,则信号无法以足够功率通过,以便在远端被“看见”。

不幸的是,光源/功率计组合无法确定光纤故障的原因。由于连接器污染物或损坏可能是光纤损耗的源头,因此通过对链路中的每个连接进行耗时的手动检查或许会发现问题。可见光故障定位仪会沿着线缆发送散布的光,通过该光线可发现断开的线缆、损坏甚至是过紧的弯曲,但需要对线缆的整个长度进行视觉检查。

终极光纤故障排除工具是光时域反射计 (OTDR)。该工具通过沿着线缆发送光脉冲并监控反射可显示幅度以及到链路中每个缺陷的距离。较早的模型显示的是复杂跟踪,需要具有一定水平的专业知识才能进行解释。较新的模型可以解释跟踪并显示能够指示问题所在的简单图表。最近引入的一类基本故障排除工具使用类似 OTDR 的技术来显示链路上到故障的距离。

  

OptiFiber® Pro OTDR

OptiFiber Pro 是为企业光纤布线测试从头打造的 OTDR 产品系列。OptiFiber Pro OTDR 不但可以节约成本,同时可以提高生产率以及改进网络可靠性。

OptiFiber Pro
  

光纤测试工具

安装光纤网络以及对其进行故障排除不一定很难实现。 无论您是否需要认证、检查损耗、查找弯曲或断点或知道线缆的长度,合适的工具都能使任务变得简单。
- 光源和功率计 – 快速确定链路损耗。
- 故障定位仪 – 仅需很少花费,即可查找光纤长度和到故障的距离
- 可视故障定位仪 – 允许您查看光缆中的断点和过度弯曲

光纤测试工具包
  

光纤清洁工具包

灰尘 - 看不见并不表示灰尘不存在。
确定其干净的唯一方式是在连接之前对其进行检查。如果光缆不干净,则需用合适的工具进行清洁,否则会变得更脏。

光纤清洁工具包
  
  

铜缆测试工具

公司都希望其双绞线运作完美,但在设计、安装和测试期间偷工减料会造成网络停机,造成资源浪费和收入损失。能够安装铜缆布线系统并快速发现故障的电缆安装人员可以避免这种情况发生。从 100BASE-T 至未来先进的双绞线技术,Fluke Networks 是布线测试业界最可信的合作伙伴。

铜缆测试工具
  

铜缆终端工具

安装、验证及保持语音、视频和数据服务的工具和测试设备。有了适当的工具之后,才能开始安装语音、视频和数据。Fluke Networks 提供市场上最可靠的网络安装工具—每个工具都是为了简化工作及提供工作效率而设计的。我们拥有品种齐全的端接工具和测试装置,可提供可靠性、最大的耐用性和数据保护,可满足各种预算的灵活选择,专为满足技术人员的需求而设计。

铜缆终端工具
  

相关资源

Fluke Networks 为我们的客户提供了多种资源来帮助其应对(网络工程师)挑战。一些需要简单注册。有关其他主题,请参阅在线视频白皮书应用程序注释的完整列表。

视频:

OptiFiber Pro Playlist 快速入门
光纤清洁:如何以正确方式清洁光纤
OptiFiber Pro 功能强大
OptiFiber Pro 使用简单
OptiFiber Pro 非常快捷

 

文档:

如何选择数据中心 OTDR
光缆测试最佳实践袖珍指南
OptiFiber Pro 数据表
在极短的时间内执行高准确度的测量
升级至 Versiv 可节约成本的 5 大原因

 

 
 
 
Powered By OneLink

Network Engineer Role - Network Engineer Tools | Fluke Networks

Support of the enterprise network falls to the Network Engineer, and the network is only as good as the copper or fiber infrastructure that supports it. Network engineers and their cabling plant need to be ready to support the latest networking technologies. And as the final escalation point for any performance problem, the Network Engineer need to have the tools necessary to determine if problems are in the network or elsewhere.

High Performance Access Network Cabling

Providing users with access to high speed Ethernet requires the installation of cabling with the ability to support it. The most widely used standards for Ethernet cabling are published by the Telecommunications Industry Association (TIA) and the International Standards Organization (ISO). These standards address cabling, connectors, installed links, and testing requirements. Simply installing cabling and connectors that meet a standard will not guarantee that an installation will comply with the standard. In order for an installed link to be certified to meet a specific standard, it must fulfill the following three criteria. First, both the cabling and connecting hardware must meet their relevant standards. Second, it must be installed properly and in compliance with the standard so as not to degrade the performance link. Third, it must pass a test from a compliant field tester.

Cabling Standard*

Supported Network Standards**

TIA

ISO

10BASE-T

100BASE-TX

1000BASE-T

10GBASE-T

25/40GBASE-T

Cat 5

 

X

X

 

 

 

Cat 5e

Class D

X

X

X

 

 

Cat 6

Class E

X

X

X

(35 m max)

 

Cat 6A

Class EA

X

X

X

X

 

Cat 8

Class I, II

X

X

X

X

(30 m max)

* TIA and ISO Standards are not necessarily completely equivalent
**Support for 100 meter channels unless otherwise indicated

Wireless Ethernet and Cabling

Due to the rapid growth of ever-more powerful mobile devices, enterprise networks are struggling to keep pace with rising bandwidth demands. Adoption of advanced wireless connectivity technologies, such as 802.11ac Wi- Fi (with theoretical speeds of over 2 Gpbs) and small cells requires that network-access speeds must move beyond their designed limits of 1 Gbps.

Upgrading to 10GBASE-T would address this issue, but the vast majority of installed cabling is Cat 5e / Class D, so this cable would need to be replaced with Cat 6A or better – an expensive proposition. To address this issue, the NBASE-T Alliance was formed with the goal of breathing new life into existing enterprise network infrastructure. The Alliance has released specifications that define 2.5 and 5 Gigabit per second (Gb/s) speeds at up to 100 meters using the large, installed base of Category 5e, 6, and 6A copper cabling in enterprise networks. However, not all installations of Cat 5e cabling can support NBASE-T technologies, so certification of the cabling to these standards is recommended in order to prevent costly failures when turning up new Wi-Fi installations.

Power Over Ethernet

Local power is not always accessible for wireless access points, IP phones, and other network devices that may be deployed in ceilings, lobbies, stairwells, and other remote areas. Adding power outlets near these devices may be extremely difficult and costly. Why not give these devices network connection and power in the same cable? This question is resolved by PoE technology. PoE is a technology designed to deliver power to networking devices using existing data communications cabling. Multiple PoE standards can supply power of up to 25.5 watts, while non-standard schemes can deliver 60 watts or more.

However, not every cable can support every level of power. Worse, many cables can deliver power intermittently, which can lead to problems which can be extremely difficult to troubleshoot. Certifying cable to make sure it meets the relevant standards is the easiest way to prevent these problems. Specialized measurements, such as resistance unbalance found in the DSX series, can be invaluable in troubleshooting these problems.

Fiber Performance - MPO

With the growth of big data, virtualization and higher bandwidth speeds in data center fiber backbone links to 40 and even 100 Gbps, most data centers today are standardizing on multi-fiber push-on (MPO) connector solutions. Despite the fact that pre-terminated MPO fiber cables are manufactured and tested by vendors to comply with ANSI/TIA and international standards, there are many factors that can potentially impact performance. Installation can damage the cables. MPO connectors are harder to clean than duplex connectors. Their much larger surface area makes it easier to move contaminants from one fiber to another within the same array during the cleaning process. 40 and 100 Gbps MPO fiber applications also have much lower loss budgets so it’s important to ensure the highest testing accuracy as possible.

Field testing is the only way to ensure that MPO links meet the application performance requirements. Unfortunately, testing a 12-fiber MPO fiber link with a duplex tester is extremely time consuming, requiring about 15 steps with a 3 jumper method and the use of MPO to LC fan-out cords that separate the 12-fiber cable into single fiber channels.

Testers with an on-board MPO connector take the complexity, time and inconsistency out of MPO testing—eliminating the need for the fan-out cord or cassette. Fluke Networks’ MultiFiber Pro is the first tester to offer this functionality with the ability to scan all 12 fibers simultaneously and display test results in an easy-to-read bar graph. The MultiFiber Pro even has the ability to identify each fiber of the MPO, providing more precise, per-fiber data and reporting to improve MPO connector verification and troubleshooting.

Preventing Problems – Qualification and Certification

Testing cables when installing them or when upgrading networks is the best way to prevent problems. There are two approaches to testing installed cabling.

Qualification testing is determining whether the cabling has the qualifications to do something—in other words, support a certain network speed or application. While a “Pass” on certification testing also ultimately indicates the ability to support a network speed or application per the standards, qualification testing does NOT officially recognize that a cabling link is standards compliant. Qualification testing might be used to determine if a link can support 1000BASE-T, 10GBASE-T, VoIP, PoE or other applications.

Certification testing is typically done by the original installer amd is typically required in order to receive the manufacturer’s warranty. This process determines if a link is compliant with a specific Category or Class of cable as determined by well-defined parameters outlined by relevant standard bodies. For instance, certification testing will determine if your link is compliant with Telecommunications Industry Association Category 6A or International Standards Organization Class EA standards. To certify a link to a standard, a certification tester must test for all of the specific parameters required by the standard. For copper, this includes parameters that go well beyond length, continuity and wiremap testing. We’re talking about parameters such as insertion loss, return loss, near-end crosstalk (NEXT), power sum NEXT, equal-level far-end crosstalk (ELFEXT), attenuation-to-crosstalk ration (ACR) and more. For fiber, it means testing for continuity, polarity, length and insertion loss (Tier 1) or backscatter, reflectance, optical return loss (Tier 2) and more.

Preventing Problems - Documentation and Reporting

Certifying a cabling installation doesn't mean anything without the burden of proof. Documenting the results is the only real way to ensure installation accountability and integrity, resolve disputes and facilitate more efficient troubleshooting.

Even if the customer or a manufacturer's warranty doesn't require documented test results, documentation is still a best practice and your best protection. If you certify a cabling installation that later fails and you don't have the documentation to prove it, how else do you provide evidence that the cable was functioning properly and that it met the specification when you were done with the job?

With today's documentation software, there is no excuse for skipping this critical last step. And it's a good idea to include plot data in your reports. Graphical depiction of measured test parameters is required for true certification testing and typically mandatory for a manufacturer's warranty. These graphs show valuable information about the cabling performance and can be a valuable tool for troubleshooting.

Preventing Problems – Labeling

Without labeling, your documentation will be of little use later on. The ANSI-TIA/EIA 606A labeling standard exists for a reason, and it goes hand in hand with documentation. That is why every work area outlet must be labeled with the floor, telecommunications room, patch panel and port from where it originates.

If you need to troubleshoot a specific link at a later date and check against its original test results, you will need the link's label at the customer location to correspond to the documentation. In fact the 606A standard says that documentation without labeling and labeling without documentation does not equal administration.

Troubleshooting Access Networks

With cabling being the leading cause of network failures, having the right tools and knowledge can keep network outages to a minimum. The right tool can make it easy for even non-experts to track down tough problems.

The most basic cable test tools perform verification - assuring that all wires in a cabling link are connected to the proper termination points and not to any other conductors. Better verification test tools also verify wire pairing and detect installation defects like “split pairs”. Verification test tools may also assist in troubleshooting by providing a toner to locate a cabling link or a Time Domain Reflectometer (TDR) to determine length of a cable or distance to a break or short circuit.

Next are Qualification test tools, such as the CableIQ™ Qualification Tester, which include all the capabilities of verification test tools but they are more powerful in that they perform an assessment of the cabling bandwidth and identify defects that affect the bandwidth.

Certification tools are the most sophisticated tools and provide “Pass” or “Fail” information in accordance with industry standards. They can also troubleshoot highly difficult problems such as unbalance, which can lead to PoE issues.

Preventing Problems - Fiber Cleaning and Inspection

Fiber optics inspection and cleaning is growing in importance as links with increasingly higher data rates are driving decreasingly small loss budgets. With less tolerance for overall light loss, the attenuation through adapters must be lower than ever before. This can be achieved by properly inspecting and cleaning fiber optic cables when they are installed or while making moves, or changes.

Both optical and video scopes can display the contamination or damage that can wreak havoc on fiber communications. Optical microscopes incorporate an objective lens and an eyepiece lens to allow you to view the end-face directly through the device. Video microscopes incorporate both an optical probe and a display for viewing the probe’s image. Probes are designed to be small so that they can reach ports in hard-to-access places

Many people have their own approaches for cleaning end-faces, including some suboptimal approaches such as blasting the fiber optic cable with canned air, or using Isopropyl alcohol (IPA). Fiber-specific solvents are superior at dissolving virtually any contaminate lurking on a fiber end-face and have tailored evaporation rates that give them time to work yet disappear before mating. Click cleaners make it easy for anyone to perform basic cleaning quickly.

Troubleshooting Fiber Networks

Troubleshooting fiber problems requires specialized equipment that ranges from very basic to highly sophisticated. Many network engineers don’t invest in the equipment due to its cost and complexity, instead hiring experts to troubleshoot fiber problems. However, newer tools are available that reduce costs, are simple enough for the occasional user, and can thereby eliminate the cost and wait for the expert.

The most common tool for testing fiber is the combination of Light Source and Power Meter. This pair is used to measure the loss of fiber optic power across the length of the link. If the loss is too great, the signal can’t get through with enough power to be “seen” at the far end.

Unfortunately, the Light Source / Power Meter combination can’t identify the cause of a fiber optic fault. Since connector contamination or damage are likely sources of fiber loss, a manual and time consuming inspection of each connection in the link may find the problem. Visual Fault Locators send a widely dispersed light down the cable, which can be used to find disconnected cables, breaks or even too-tight bends, but require a visual inspection of the entire length of the cable.

The ultimate fiber troubleshooting tool is the Optical Time Domain Reflectometer (OTDR). By sending a pulse of light down the cable and monitoring reflections, if can show the magnitude and distance to every imperfection in the link. Older models displayed complex traces which required a significant level of expertise to interpret. Newer models can interpret the traces and display simple diagrams indicating where the problems are. A recently introduced class of basic troubleshooters uses OTDR-like technology to display the distance to faults along the link.

  

OptiFiber® Pro OTDR

OptiFiber Pro is the first OTDR built from the ground up for enterprise fiber optic cabling testing. OptiFiber Pro is focused on reducing costs while enhancing productivity and improving network reliability.

OptiFiber Pro
  

Fiber Testing Tools

Installing and troubleshooting fiber optic networks doesn’t have to be difficult. Whether you need to certify, check for loss, find bends or breaks or know the length of the cable, the right tool can make the task easy.
- Light Sources and Power Meters – Quickly determine the loss of a link.
- Fault Locators – Find fiber length and distance to faults for a fraction of the cost of an OTDR
- Visual Fault Locators – Let you see breaks and excessive bends in the fiber cable

Fiber Optic Testing Kit
  

Fiber Optic Cleaning Kits

Dust - just because you can’t see it doesn’t mean it’s not there.
The only way to know it’s clean is to inspect it before you connect it. And if it’s dirty, it needs to be cleaned with the right tools or you might just make it worse.

Fiber Optic Cleaning Kits
  
  

Copper Testing Tools

Companies expect their twisted pair cabling to work flawlessly, but corners cut during design, installation and testing result in network downtime which translates to wasted resources and lost revenue. This can be avoided by cable installers that are capable of installing copper cabling systems and locating faults quickly. From 100BASE-T to tomorrow’s advanced twisted pair technology, Fluke Networks is the industry’s most trusted partner for cabling testing.

Copper Testing Tools
  

Copper Termination Tools

Tools and test sets for installing, verifying and maintaining voice, video and data services. Voice, video and data installation starts with having the right tool. Fluke Networks offers the most reliable network installation tools on the market—each one designed to streamline the job and make you more productive. Our complete line of termination tools and test sets meet the demands of technicians by providing reliability, maximum ruggedness, data protection and flexible options for every budget.

Copper Termination Tools
  

Related Resources

Fluke Networks provides many resources to help our customers solve (Network Engineers) challenges. Some require a simple registration. See a complete listing of webcasts, white papers and application notes for other topics.

Videos:

Getting started with OptiFiber Pro Playlist
Fiber Cleaning: How to Properly Clean Optical Fibers
OptiFiber Pro is Powerful
OptiFiber Pro is Easy
OptiFiber Pro is Fast

 

Documents:

How to Choose a Datacenter OTDR
Fiber Testing Best Practices Pocket Guide
OptiFiber Pro Datasheet
Executing Highly Accurate Fiber Measurements in a Fraction of the Time
Top 5 reasons Upgrading to Versiv will save you money