OTDR - 光时域反射计

 

OTDR - 光时域反射计

光时域反射计 (OTDR) 是很多企业用于认证新光纤链路性能及检测现有光纤链路问题的重要仪器。

认证新链路

您的网络健康状况取决于您的网络基础设施质量。这种质量始于承包商或者系统集成商对光纤布线基础设施安装正确的完整认证。要保护关键业务应用,保持光纤线路的可靠性是必要的基础。作为网络管理员,了解如何从线缆投入中取得最佳性能以及如何在发生问题时迅速解决问题是非常重要的。

大部分客户熟悉基本认证 - 有时称为 1 级光纤认证 – 即测量衰减(插入损耗)、长度和极性。此测试要确保光纤链路显示的损耗低于受测应用可承受的最大损耗预计。简单的光源/功率计或更复杂的自动光纤损耗测试套件可以执行此功能。

高级或第 2 级光纤认证增加了端到端的光时域反射计 (OTDR),对 1 级测试进行了补充。OTDR 迹线是光纤沿长度衰减的特征图形,您可以通过检查 OTDR 迹线中的不一致之处来深入观察链路组件(光缆、接头和拼接处)性能和安装质量。较高级的装置可以便于理解单个组件以及链路的事件图和损耗值。

OTDR 迹线有助于将执行仅包含损耗/长度(1 级)测试时通常不会暴露出来的单个事件特征化。只有通过完整的光纤认证,安装人员才能够最全面地了解光纤安装,网络拥有者才能够证明安装的质量是否令人满意。此光纤测试用于认证安装的工艺和质量符合当前并且适应未来应用的设计与担保规格。

利用抓捏和缩放等高级功能可以更方便地查看迹线结果。

双向测试

2 级 (OTDR) 测试的双向光纤链路测试不仅是工业标准和大部分制造商在保修时所需要的,也是了解链路的实际整体损耗的唯一方式。这是因为光纤连接器和拼接的损耗测量以及整体链路的损耗测量,都取决于测试方向。在一个方向上的光纤链路测试可以提供与反方向光纤链路测试相反的结果。

因为从两端测试需要大量时间和成本,所以技师为了尽量节省时间,经常会先在一端测试所有链路,然后再去另一端。遗憾的是这种方法行不通。为了准确地测量两个方向的光纤链路,在两次测试期间,发射和接收光纤必须保持原始测量位置(标准也是这么要求的)。但是如果您先在一端测试所有链路,再去另一端,这就不可能了。

为了解决这种困局,您可以同时测量两根光纤,使用回路将两根光纤连接到一起。这样可以一次测量双工链路中的两根光纤,无需将 OTDR 移到远端。OTDR 就像 Fluke Networks 的 OptiFiber® Pro 功能中的 “SmartLoop” 技术,在测试双工光纤链路时可以检查是否存在发射光纤、回路和接收光纤。

OptiFiber Pro 事件图显示通过/失败结果和整体光纤以及各事件的损耗。

利用 SmartLoop,技师可以在远端部署多个回路并执行一系列双向测试而无需离开近端--节省至少 50% 的测试时间。

检测问题

Versiv 工具包配置程序

如何选用 Versiv?

Versiv 配置程序。

OTDR 还能够维护光纤线路的性能。OTDR 可绘制布线图,并指明可能影响网络性能的端接质量和故障位置。OTDR 允许沿光纤信道长度探察可能影响光纤长期可靠性的问题。OTDR 会分析衰减一致性和衰减率、光纤段长度、连接器、接头的位置和插入损耗等特征以及在电缆安装过程中或之后可能出现的锐弯头等其他事件。

当需要选择合适的 OTDR 时,网络工程师应该确保该工具具有某些功能,比如损耗长度认证、信道/事件视图、功率计功能、易用界面和智能远端选项。另外,OTDR 需要提供记录结果的可靠方法。对于非 OTDR 专家但需要快速定位问题所在的用户来说,自动设备和事件图等让 OTDR 易于操作的功能是必不可少的。

OptiFiber® Pro OTDR 等备受赞誉的工具提供终极的测试和故障排除解决方案,确保您最关键的网络布线保持健康。采用 OptiFiber Pro OTDR,网络工程师只需使用此单一易用的 OTDR 工具就可以具有专家的能力来检查、验证、认证、检修和记录光纤布线。

 

联系我们

美国/加拿大:1-800-283-5853
国际:1-425-446-4519
 
 
Powered By OneLink

OTDR (Optical time-domain reflectometer) - OTDR Trace Analysis | Fluke Networks

OTDR - Optical Time Domain Reflectometer

OTDR - Optical Time Domain Reflectometer

An Optical Time Domain Reflectometer (OTDR) is an important instrument used by organizations to certify the performance of new fiber optics links and detect problems with existing fiber links.

Certifying New Links

The health of your network depends on the quality of your network infrastructure. This quality begins with complete certification by contractors or systems integrators that the fiber cabling infrastructure was properly installed. Maintaining a reliable fiber plant is also essential in protecting your business-critical applications. As a network administrator, it is important to understand how to get the best performance from your cabling investment and how to solve problems quickly when they occur.

Most customers are familiar with Basic Certification - sometimes known as Tier 1 fiber certification – which measures attenuation (insertion loss), length and polarity. This test ensures that the fiber link exhibits less loss than the maximum allowable loss budget for the immediate application. Simple Light Source/ Power Meters or more automated Optical Loss Test Sets can perform this function.

Extended or Tier 2 fiber certification supplements Tier 1 testing with the addition of an Optical Time Domain Reflectometer (OTDR) from end to end. An OTDR trace is a graphical signature of a fiber's attenuation along its length which provides insight into the performance of the link components (cable, connectors and splices) and the quality of the installation by examining non-uniformities in the OTDR trace. More advanced units can provide easy to understand Event Maps and loss values for individual components as well as the link.

An OTDR trace helps characterize individual events that can often be invisible when conducting only loss/length (tier 1) testing. Only with a complete fiber certification can installers have a complete picture of the fiber installation and network owners have proof of a quality installation.. This fiber test certifies that the workmanship and quality of the installation meets the design and warrantee specifications for current and future applications.

Viewing trace results is simplified with advanced features such as pinch and zoom

Bi-Directional Testing

Bi-directional testing of fiber links for Tier 2 (OTDR) testing is not only required by industry standards and most manufacturers for warranty, it's also the only way to know the actual overall loss for a link. That's because measuring the loss of fiber connectors and splices, as well as overall link loss, depends on the test direction. Testing a fiber link in one direction can give you different results than testing the same fiber link in the opposite direction.

Because of the significant time and cost involved in testing from both ends, technicians often try to save as much time as possible by testing all links from one end before moving to the other end. Unfortunately this method does not work. To accurately test a fiber link in both directions, the launch and tail cords must remain in their initial measurement positions (even the standards say so) during both tests. But that is simply not possible if you test all the links from one end before moving to the other.

To solve this dilemma, you can test two fibers at the same time and use a loop to connect the two fibers together. This allows the two fibers of a duplex link to be tested in one shot without moving the OTDR to the far end. OTDRs like Fluke Networks’ OptiFiber® Pro feature “SmartLoop” Technology that checks for the presence of the launch, loop and tail fiber when testing a duplex fiber link.

The OptiFiber Pro Event Map displays Pass/Fail results and the loss for the overall fiber as well as for each event.

With SmartLoop, technicians can deploy multiple loops at the far end and perform a set of bidirectional tests without ever having to leave the near end--cutting test time by at least 50%.

Detecting Problems

Versiv Kit Configurator

How will you be using your Versiv?

Versiv Configurator.

OTDRs are also used for maintaining fiber plant performance. An OTDR maps the cabling and can illustrate termination quality and location of faults that may hinder network performance. An OTDR allows discovery of issues along the length of a channel that may affect long term reliability. OTDRs characterize features such as attenuation uniformity and attenuation rate, segment length, location and insertion loss of connectors and splices, and other events such as sharp bends that may have been incurred during cable installation or afterwards.

When selecting the right OTDR, network engineers should make sure the tool has certain functionality, such as loss-length certification, channel/event map view, power meter capabilities, an easy-to-use interface, and smart-remote options. In addition, the OTDR needs to provide a reliable means to document the results. Features that make the OTDR easy to operate such as automated setup and Event Map are essential for users who aren’t OTDR experts but need to locate problems fast.

Tools such as the award winning OptiFiber® Pro OTDR provide the ultimate testing and troubleshooting solution to ensure the health of your most critical network cabling. With the OptiFiber Pro OTDR, network engineers have the in-house capability to perform inspection, verification, certification, troubleshooting, and documentation of fiber cabling in a single, easy-to-use OTDR tool.

 OTDR- Optical Time Domain Reflectometer

Contact Us

U.S. / Canada: 1-800-283-5853
International: 1-425-446-4519