光纤测试

 

光纤测试

光纤测试

光纤布线是当今数据通信网络的核心。光纤是当今最主要的介质类型,广泛用于关键任务数据中心链路、建筑物内的网络架构以及校园网络远程连接。随着人们对网络速度和带宽的要求不断提升,链路长度和光损耗的极限值日益缩小,因此光纤布线的认证比以往更为重要。

检查光缆的光损耗

利用 FI-7000 Fibre Optic Inspector 进行线缆认证 长久以来,为了确保光束正确通过,需要检查和清洁光纤。随着链路的数据传输速率日益提高,要求损耗也要不断降低,因此,尽管光纤检查和光纤接头清洁并不新鲜,但其重要性却与日俱增。由于对整体光损耗的容许误差越来越小,适配器的衰减值肯定比以往要求更小。通过在安装或移动、更改时正确检查并在必要时清洁光纤,可以实现这一目标。

在光束离开一个端面进入适配器内另一端面的过程中,有两种类型的问题可能造成损耗:污染和损坏。

油污和水凝胶堵塞是光纤连接器端接面污染的常见形式。只要接触金属套圈,就会在端面立即留下人体油污,一旦连接,就会导致过量的衰减。灰尘和细小的带静电微粒在空气中漂浮,有可能吸附到任何暴露尾端上。正在建造或改造的设施中尤其可能出现这种情况。缓冲液凝胶和润滑油在新安装过程中很容易溢出到端面上。

光缆损坏包括刮痕、凹陷、裂缝或碎裂。这些端面表面缺陷可能是由于端接不当或连接污染造成的。如果决定首先完成每个连接然后仅检查发生故障的连接,这种方法很危险,因为受污染端面的实际连接可能导致永久性损坏。这种永久性损坏要求进行更加昂贵耗时的重新端接或以预先端接的链路进行更换。

在光缆布线的最初阶段,需要使用台式立体显微镜检查光纤端面。随着时间的推移,人们设计出了更小的便携式显微镜来轻松地测试光缆。显微镜可分为两种基本类型:光学显微镜视频显微镜。光学显微镜结合了物镜透镜和目镜透镜,因此可以直接通过设备检查端面。视频显微镜包含光学探头和用于查看探头图像的显示屏。探头设计得很小,使其可以到达位置难以接近的端口。通过屏幕可以放大图像,更易于发现污染和损坏。由于不是直接查看端面而是在屏幕上查看,因此探头的使用最大程度上降低了任何有害激光接触人眼的可能性。Fluke Networks 提供从普通显微镜专家级显微镜的各种光纤显微镜。

清洁光缆

由于多年来清洁已经成为光缆维护的一部分,大多数人都有他们自己的方法来清洁端面,其中包括一些不太理想的方法,例如使用罐装空气喷洗光缆或使用异丙醇 (IPA) 进行清洗。光纤专用溶剂不仅可以快速溶解沾染在光纤端面上的任何污染,还具有合适的蒸发率,既有时间发挥作用,又能在连接前完全蒸发。最基本的工具是分别用于清洁跳线和内部端口的棉布和棉签。便捷的 fiber optic cleaning kit 中包括细致地清洗端面所需的所有溶剂和清洁设备。

Versiv 工具包配置程序

如何选用 Versiv?

Versiv 工具包配置说明

光纤测试故障排除、验证与认证

光纤测试仪包括用于基本检查和清洁、基本故障排除的工具,还包括验证测试仪、认证测试仪、以及用于故障排除和现有布线分析的高级 OTDR 测试仪。

要进行简单的光纤故障排除和验证,可将 SimpliFiber Pro 和光源解决方案结合使用,来测量多模和单模光纤损耗。内置的结果存储和自动波长同步功能即可节省时间又可防止出现错误。

必须根据 IEEE、TIA/EIA 或 ISO/IEC 标准对新的布线进行认证,以确保链路能够运行将要使用的应用。完整的光纤布线认证包括两个部分:第 1 层或基本测试方案和第 2 层或扩展测试方案。第 1 层光纤布线认证使用功率计和光源或 CertiFiber Pro 这类光学损耗测试装置 (OLTS) 来测量链路的绝对损耗,并与标准中规定的限值进行比较。可使用 OTDR(比如 OptiFiber Pro OTDR)执行光纤 2 级认证和故障排除。

光纤链路认证要求操作人员使用正确的测试设备、具备充分的安装和应用标准知识,并能够准确记录测试结果。CertiFiber™ Pro 是一款手持光纤认证测试仪,能够快速简便地对多模和单模网络进行认证。按下一个按钮可测量两个波长的两条光纤的光纤长度和光损耗,计算光损耗承受范围,并将结果与选定的工业标准进行比较,快速提供一个“通过”或“失败”标识。使用随附的 LinkWare 软件 可轻松保存并管理测试结果。

2 级

光纤认证

要求增加使用 OTDR 进行损失测试,从而确保已安装链路各个组件的质量。要了解关于 OTDR 和第二层光纤认证的更多内容,请点击此处

Fluke Networks 是企业

光纤测试设备

领域的市场领导者,提供各种坚固耐用的光纤测试仪,这些产品广泛用于光纤网络的检测、清洗、验证、认证以及故障排除等方面。
 

联系我们

美国/加拿大:1-800-283-5853
国际:1-425-446-4519
 
 
Powered By OneLink

Fiber Testing

Fiber Optic Testing
Fiber optics cabling is the core of today's datacom networks. Optical fiber is the predominant media type for mission-critical datacenter links, backbone within buildings, and longer distances for campus networks. As network speeds and bandwidth demands increase, distance and loss limitations have decreased, making fiber optic cabling certification more important than ever.

Inspecting Fiber Optic Cable for Light Loss
For decades, fiber optics have been inspected and cleaned to ensure the proper passage of light. While fiber optics inspection and cleaning fiber connectors is not new, it is growing in importance as links with increasingly higher data rates are driving decreasingly small loss budgets. With less tolerance for overall light loss, the attenuation through adapters must be lower than ever before. This can be achieved by properly inspecting and cleaning fiber optic cables when necessary.

There are two types of problems that will cause loss as light leaves one end-face and enters another inside an adapter: contamination and damage.

Dust oils and water blocking gel are common forms of fiber connector end-face contamination. Simply touching the ferrule will immediately deposit body oil on the end-face, and cause unacceptable attenuation once connection are made. Dust and small static-charged particles float through the air and can land on any exposed termination. This can be especially true in facilities undergoing construction or renovation. In new installations, buffer gel and pulling lube can easily find its way onto an end-face.

Fiber optic cable damage appears as a scratch, pit, crack, or chip. These end-face surface defects could be the result of poor termination or mated contamination. Deciding to mate every connection first and then inspecting only those that fail is a dangerous approach as the physical contact of mated contaminants can cause permanent damage. This permanent damage would require more costly and time consuming re-termination or replacement of pre-terminated links.

From the first days of fiber optic cabling, stereo bench top microscopes were used to inspect fiber optic end-faces. Over time, smaller, portable microscopes were designed to easily test fiber cable. Microscopes can be divided into two basic groupings: optical and video. Optical microscopes incorporate an objective lens and an eyepiece lens to allow you to view the end-face directly through the device. Video microscopes incorporate both an optical probe and a display for viewing the probe’s image. Probes are designed to be small so that they can reach ports in hard-to-access places. The screens allow images to be expanded for easier identification of contaminants and damage. Because the end-face is viewed on a screen instead of directly, probes minimize the chance of a harmful laser light reaching a person’s eye. Fluke Networks offers a range of fiber optic microscopes from simple to professional-grade.

Cleaning Fiber Optic Cables
Because cleaning has been part of fiber optic cable maintenance for years, most people have their own approaches for cleaning end-faces, including some suboptimal approaches such as blasting the fiber optic cable with canned air, or using Isopropyl alcohol (IPA).  Fiber-specific solvents are superior at dissolving virtually any contaminate lurking on a fiber end-face and have tailored evaporation rates that give them time to work yet disappear before mating. The most basic tools used are wipes and swabs used to clean patch cords and inside ports, respectively. Convenient fiber optic cleaning kits include all the solvent and cleaning equipment one needs for precision end-face cleaning.

Fiber Optics Testing: Troubleshooting, Verification, and Certification
Fiber optic testers include tools to perform basic inspection and cleaning, basic troubleshooting and verification testers, certification testers, and advanced OTDR testers for troubleshooting and analysis of existing cabling.

For simple fiber troubleshooting and verification testers, the SimpliFiber Pro and source solutions work together to measure multimode and singlemode fiber loss. Built-in results storage and automatic wavelength synchronization save time and prevent errors.

Certification of new cabling per IEEE, TIA/EIA, or ISO/IEC standards is necessary to ensure that the link will run the intended application. Complete fiber optic cabling certification includes two parts; Tier 1 or Basic Test Regimen and Tier 2 or Extended Test Regimen. Tier one fiber optic cabling certification is performed with a power meter and light source or optical loss test set like the CertiFiber Pro to measure the absolute loss of the link and compare it to the limits in the standard. Tier two fiber optic cabling certification and troubleshooting can be performed with an OTDR such as the OptiFiber Pro OTDR.

Certification of fiber optic links requires the right testing equipment, detailed knowledge of installation and application standards, and the ability to document your test results. The DTX-CLT CertiFiber is a handheld fiber optic certification tester that quickly and easily certifies multimode networks. One button measures fiber length and optical loss on two fibers at two wavelengths, computes the optical loss budget, compares the results to the selected industry standard and provides an instant PASS or FAIL indication. Test results can easily be saved and managed using included LinkWare Software.

Tier two fiber optic certification requires the use of an OTDR to ensure the quality of individual components of the installed link. Learn more about OTDRs and tier-two fiber certification here.

Fluke Networks is the market leader in enterprise fiber optic testing equipment, with a wide range of field-tough fiber optic testers to inspect, clean, verify, certify, troubleshoot fiber optic networks.

fiber optic testing

Related Products

Related Resources

For Solution or Product Advice:
U.S. / Canada: 1-800-283-5853
International: 1-425-446-4519
info@flukenetworks.com

Gold Maintenance and Support Program