数据中心

数据中心

数据中心效率和可用性要考虑的因素

 

数据中心是所有企业网络的核心,依靠它才能传输、访问和存储所有信息。在这里,线缆将企业局域网 (LAN) 连接到支持所有应用、处理和通信的交换机、服务器、存储区域网 (SAN)、以及其他活动设备。它也是 LAN 连接到服务提供商网络并访问因特网和设施外的其他网络的地方。

随着信息和应用的持续增长,数据中心不断扩充容量以容纳更多活动设备和链路,同时还需要为设备提供高带宽、低延迟的数据传输。正确的数据中心设计涉及最大化增长和可扩展性空间、保证线缆路径可管理、提高效率并保证整体性能、可靠性和弹性。

因为企业都在数据驱动的世界中竞争,这为云和托管数据中心提供了成长机会,因为它们无需升级数据中心即可更快地部署新系统和服务以及扩展容量。许多企业倾向于使用混合 IT 方式,即将部分 IT 资源放在内部,特别是企业需要掌控的数据,而其他资源则使用服务保存在云中,例如使用软件即服务 (SaaS),或保存在大型托管数据中心,并通过基础设施即服务 (IaaS) 快速响应不断变化的需求。

关键数据中心问题和挑战

因为数据中心是企业运营的关键,有不断增长的任务关键设备,所以为了保证可靠性和性能,有多个关键因素和挑战需要考虑。我们先来看几个比较重要的。

数据中心冗余和可用性

数据中心可靠性很大程度上取决于可用性(即停机时间)和冗余量(即重复)。数据中心冗余需要使用重复的组件(即设备、链路、电源和路径),从而保证这些出现故障时仍能正常运行。数据中心通常 “N” 系统定义,其中 “N” 是数据中心正常运行所需的基本组件数量。因此,N+1 冗余表示运行的组件数量比需要的数量多一个,2N 冗余表示两倍需要的组件数量,2N+1 冗余是两倍加一。Uptime Institute 的层级或 BICSI 002 可用性分类系统均倡导为各种级别的数据中心可用性使用 “N” 级。

数据中心功率、散热和效率

现在,考虑到高级数据中心计算所需的成本和不断增长的功率,能耗已经成为数据中心要考虑的关键因素。因此数据中心经理们要通过保证效率降低运营成本,而他们经常使用 Green Grid 的 PUE 指标保证进入数据中心的功率能被设备高效率地使用,避免浪费。

数据中心散热对能耗也有明显影响。避免混合传入数据中心的冷空气和热排气有助于提高回风温度,从而提高数据中心散热系统的效率,避免过度配置耗电的空调设备。避免冷热空气混合也是保证可靠性的关键,因为热点会影响设备的寿命和可靠性。

在数据中心使用热通道/冷通道配置是避免冷热空气混合的方式之一。它采用如下机柜排列方式:在设备前侧优化从数据中心散热系统进入的冷空气,在设备后侧优化热排气并进入冷却回风系统。也可使用限制系统隔离冷热通道,例如使用顶板将冷通道与数据中心的其他部分(例如冷通道限制系统)隔离,或使用垂直板隔离热通道并将热排气返回高架回风室。

数据中心的散热还会受到通道中的线缆数量的影响。线缆在地板下通道中或设备前拥塞时,会妨碍冷空气到设备入口或热空气到排气系统的正常循环。使用有效的线缆管理方式和高架高密度线缆都是可以改善气流的策略。

光纤损耗预算

插入损耗是信号在线缆上前行时损失的能量(即衰减)和路径中的连接点造成的损耗(即连接器和拼接)。插入损耗不但是铜缆系统的性能参数之一,也是光纤系统的主要性能参数。工业标准规定了光纤应用正常运行允许的插入损耗量,而且 40GBASE-SR4 和 100GBASE-SR4 等较高速度的应用有更严格的插入损耗要求。数据中心根据功能区域之间的距离和路径上的连接点的数量决定光纤损耗预算,以保证损耗预算在要求的范围内。

基本光纤测试(又称 1 层认证)使用光纤损耗测试(以分贝 (dB) 为单位)测量整个光纤链路的插入损耗。 1 层认证几乎是所有线缆制造商提供系统保修的必需认证,另外部分制造商可能还要求使用 OTDR 的 2 层认证,该认证可提供与具体连接点和线缆长度损耗相关的信息。

插入损耗预算对光纤端面清洁度也有非常严格的要求,因为污染的光纤端面是数据中心中光纤相关问题和测试失败的主要原因。即使光纤纤维芯上的极小颗粒,也会造成影响性能的损耗和反射。因此,清洁和检查成为数据中心光纤端接的关键步骤。为了避免主观判断端面清洁度,建议使用包含具体清洁度分级标准的“IEC 61300-3-35 基本测试和测量流程标准”评估光纤端面检查是否通过认证。

 

联系我们

美国/加拿大:1-800-283-5853
国际:1-425-446-4519
 
 
Powered By OneLink

Data Centers Challenges: Efficiency and Reliable Testing Tools | Fluke Networks

Data Centers

Data Centers

Factors to consider for Data Centers Efficiency and Availability

The data center is the heart of every enterprise network, enabling the transmission, access and storage of all information. Here, cabling connects enterprise local area networks (LANs) to switches, servers, storage area networks (SANs), and other active equipment that supports all applications, transactions and communication. It also is where the LAN connects to service provider networks that provide access to the Internet and other networks outside of the facility.

As the amount of information and applications continues to grow, data centers are expanding their capacity to house increasing amounts of active equipment and more links than ever before while also needing to enable high-bandwidth, low-latency data transmission to and from equipment. Proper data center design involves maximizing space to allow for growth and scalability, making sure cabling pathways are manageable, improving efficiency and ensuring overall performance, reliability and resilience.

As businesses strive to compete in a data-driven world, cloud and colocation data centers are on the rise as they provide the means for deploying new systems and services faster and expanding capacity without the need to upgrade the data center. Many enterprise businesses are trending toward a hybrid IT approach where some IT resources remain in house, particularly where the business needs to maintain control of the data, while other resources reside in in the cloud using services such as software-as-a-service (SaaS) or in large colocation data centers where infrastructure-as-a-service (IaaS) allows these businesses to respond quickly to changing needs.

Key Data Center Considerations and Challenges

Because the data center is essential to an enterprise’s operation and houses an ever-increasing amount of mission critical equipment, there are several key considerations and challenges when it comes to ensuring reliability and performance. Let’s take a look at a few of the more important ones.

Data Center Redundancy and Availability

Data center reliability is largely based on availability (i.e., amount of downtime) and the amount of redundancy (i.e., duplication). Data center redundancy involves having duplicate components (i.e., equipment, links, power and pathways) to ensure functionality in the event that any of these should fail. Data center redundancy is often defined using the “N” system where “N” is the baseline for the number of components required for the data center to function. N+1 redundancy would therefore mean having one more component than is needed to function while 2N redundancy is double the amount of components needed, and 2N+1 redundancy is double the amount plus one. Both the Uptime Institute’s Tier levels or the BICSI 002 availability class system call out the “N” level required for the various levels of data center availability.

Data Center Power, Cooling and Efficiency

Energy consumption is key consideration in the data center, given the cost and increased amount of power required for today’s advanced data center computing. Data center managers are therefore tasked with ensuring efficiency to reduce operational costs, and they often use the Green Grid’s PUE metric to ensure that power coming into the data center is being efficiently used by equipment and not wasted.

Data center cooling also has a significant impact on energy consumption. Preventing the mixing of cold inlet air and hot exhaust air in the data center helps to raise return air temperatures, which improves the efficiency of data center cooling systems and prevents overprovisioning of power-consuming air conditioning units. Preventing the mixing of hot and cold air is also critical to ensuring reliability as hot spots can adversely impact equipment lifetime and reliability.

The use of a hot aisle/cold aisle configuration in the data center is one way that data centers prevent the mixing of hot and cold air. It involves lining up rows of cabinets in way that cold air intake from data center cooling systems is optimized at the front of the equipment and hot air exhaust from the back of the equipment is optimized to reach the cooling return system. Containment systems can also be used to completely isolate hot and cold aisles from each other where roof panels are used to isolate the cold aisle from the rest of the data center (i.e., cold aisle containment) or vertical panels are used to isolate the hot aisle and return the hot exhaust to the overhead return plenum.

Data center cooling can also be affected by the amount of cabling in pathways. When cabling is congested in underfloor pathways or at the front of the equipment, it can prevent proper movement of cold air to the equipment inlet or hot air from the exhaust. The use of effective cable management and moving high density cables overhead are strategies deployed to enable proper airflow.

Fiber Loss Budgets

Insertion loss is the amount of energy that a signal loses as it travels along a cable link (i.e., attenuation) and the loss caused by any connection point along the way (i.e., connectors and splices). While insertion loss is one performance parameter for copper cabling systems, it is the primary performance parameter for fiber systems. Industry standards specify the amount of insertion loss allowed for fiber applications to function properly, and higher speed applications like 40GBASE-SR4 and 100GBASE-SR4 have much more stringent insertion loss requirements. Data centers determine their fiber loss budgets based on distances between the functional areas and number of connection points along the way to ensure that they stay within these requirements.

Basic fiber testing, known as Tier 1 certification, measures insertion loss of the entire fiber link in decibels (dB) using an optical loss test. Tier 1 certification is almost always required by cable manufacturers to acquire a system warranty, but some may also require Tier 2 certification using an OTDR that also provides insight into the loss of specific connection points and length of the cable.

Staying within the insertion loss budget for fiber is also highly contingent on fiber end face cleanliness as contaminated fiber end faces remain the number one cause of fiber related problems and test failures in data centers. Even the slightest particle on the core of a fiber can cause loss and reflections that degrade performance. Cleaning and inspection are therefore key steps in data center fiber terminations certifies fiber end-faces. It is therefore recommended to follow the IEC 61300-3-35 Basic Test and Measurement Procedures Standard that contains specific cleanliness grading criteria to assess pass or fail certification for inspection of a fiber end-face.

 

Contact Us

U.S. / Canada: 1-800-283-5853
International: 1-425-446-4519