白皮书:直流电阻不平衡测试:为您的 PoE 系统提供简单而经济的保证

原先由 IEEE 分别于 1999 年和 2003 年批准的千兆以太网 (1000BASE-T) 和以太网供电 (PoE) 的两种网络技术已成为现在的规范。因约 85% 的现有布线同时支持这两种技术,它们在过去十年里获得了飞快的发展,因而现在有许多企业己经或计划在水平 LAN 环境中部署千兆以太网和更多的 PoE 设备。

    目录

  • 了解 PoE 和直流电阻不平衡
  • 什么导致直流电阻不平衡?
  • 直流电阻不平衡测试
  • 使用正确的终端工具提高终端一致性
  • 直流环路电阻与直流电阻不平衡

虽然 10/100BASE-T(即 10 和 100 Mbps)应用只需要两根双绞线进行传输,剩下一根四对绞线中的两根备用双绞线供 PoE 使用,但千兆以太网需要所有四根双绞线才能进行双向传输。在这种情况下,PoE 通过同时传输数据的双绞线实现。

这通常称为幻像供电,实现方式是在一根四对以太网线缆的两根双绞线之间施加一个共模电压,PoE 不能干扰数据传输。但是,PoE 连接中的直流电阻不平衡可能会产生严重问题。虽然 TIA 或 IEC 性能现场测试中并不要求进行电阻不平衡测试,但 IEEE 的 PoE 标准中指定了该测试,而为了保证设备获得所需的电力和数据,还需要很多努力使直流电阻不平衡测试成为现场测试要求。随着我们在未来转向采用新的 PoE 标准,即 IEEE 802.3bt 并能达到 100W,从而使两线对 PoE 交付变为四线对 PoE 交付。不仅线对内的直流电阻不平衡将可能导致问题,即使线对到线对的直流并联电阻不平衡也可能引起潜在的问题。

了解 PoE 和直流电阻不平衡

IEEE 802.3af PoE 标准是为了通过双绞数据线为设备提供远程低电压而开发的。电力通过电源设备 (PSE) 注入,这通常是一种启用了 PoE 的开关或一种中跨电力设备。电力可由另一端的多种用电设备 (PD) 使用,包括语音电话、无线接入点 (WAP)、挂钟、传感器、摄像机、访问控制面板等。

原始 IEEE 802.3af 标准通过双绞线最高可提供 15.4 W(13 W 可用)功率,而当前的 IEEE 802.3at PoE Plus 标准将最大功率值提高到 30 W(25.5 W 可用)。新提出的 IEEE 802.3bt PoE Plus Plus 标准旨在批准后提供 100W 功率。PoE Plus 是为需要更高功率的设备而开发的,如较高功率 WAP、泛倾斜变焦照相机、LED 显示屏等。实际上,为实现更复杂的信号处理和需要 PoE Plus 的更高帧速率,最新的 802.11ac 千兆 WiFi 标准有更高的功率要求。正在开发的 PoE Plus Plus 旨在为更耗电的设备提供电源,如多个无线 WAP、CCTV 摄像机(还包括 PTZ 和加热器)、LED 数据中心照明、以及正在设想的更多用途。

IEEE 802.3af 和 802.3at 标准为 PSE 指定了两种使用一根四对数据线缆中的两根双绞线来提供电力的方法—方法 A 和 B。在方法 B 中,电力是通过备用双绞线使用双绞线 1 和 4 提供的。这与仅使用两根双绞线(双绞线 2 和 3)的数据信号兼容,包括 10/100BASE-T 应用。在方法 A 中,电力与数据同时通过双绞线 2 和 3 提供,兼容两对和四对应用,包括 10/100BASE-T 和 1000BASE-T。

在方法 A 中,电力通过应用共模电压经数据线对传输。电力通过 PD 变压器的中心分路器接收和返回,拆分双绞线中各导线之间的电流。双绞线中每条线的电阻相等时,直流电阻不平衡(两导线之间的电阻差)为零,电流均分,即为共模电流。

3052 PoE 电阻不平衡

在 IEEE 802.3bt 中,我们采用 4 线对系统以提供所需电力。我们仍然使用我们的 PSE 和 PD 设备,电流在四线对之间共享。

3052 PoE 系统

虽然设备可以承受轻微的直流电阻不平衡,但过大的不平衡可能导致变压器饱和。这最终会使以太网数据信号的波形变形,导致位错误、重复传输,甚至数据链路故障。在四线对 PoE 系统中,可以承受线对之间的一些直流电阻不平衡,但如果过量,PoE 将停止运作。

什么导致直流电阻不平衡?

可能有多种原因在 PoE 数据链路中发生线对内和线对之间的直流电阻不平衡。虽然 PSE 和终端设备都可能会发生中心分路器偏移之类的变压器问题,但直流电阻不平衡更经常是因为工艺差、端子不一致和线缆质量不达标引起的。

长期以来,不良安装实践一直是网络性能问题的关键。保证最小弯曲半径和保持对绞靠近端点是实现性能参数的关键,对于 1000BASE-T 和 10GBASE-T 较高频率应用更是如此。相对高频率传输特性来说 PoE 更依赖于特定长度线缆的直流电阻,因而某些安装实践会产生影响。

各个导线终端的一致性对于避免直流电阻不平衡有重要意义。将各个导线压到网络插座中正确的 IDC 塔中以去除导线绝缘、露出铜,然后完成连接。

在该实践过程中保持正确且一致的安插并不一定是件容易的事。插入导线需要一定的力度,不熟练、手部疲劳和较大的导线尺寸都会对一致性产生影响。当一对 PoE 线中的两根导线终端不一致时,就会发生直流电阻不平衡。使用正确的终端工具有助于提高 PoE 系统中终端的一致性并避免直流电阻不平衡(见侧栏上的终端工具)。

除合格的终端外,还要有精密的制造流程,因为线缆和连接的整体质量也会影响直流电阻不平衡。制造高质量 UTP 线缆时需要仔细选择铜导线并通过严格的控制措施保持线缆的正确外形。如果低质量线缆的铜导线在直径、同心度(圆度)、轮廓和平滑度上出现差异,则 PoE 系统中出现直流电阻不平衡的可能性就会更高。

目前业界越来越关心的一个问题就是有大量含铜镀铝 (CCA)、铜镀钢和其他非标准导线冒充 5e 类甚至 6 类线。虽然这些双绞线于那些寻找经济型网络解决方案的人很有吸引力,但 CCA 线不符合行业标准,也不支持 PoE 应用,因为它们的直流电阻较大,会比相同直径的实心铜导线高 55%。线的电阻越高发热就越大,所驱动设备获得的电压就越小。

遗憾的是,测试直流电阻并不足以确定是否支持 PoE,因为部分 CCA 线在短链路中可以通过直流环路电阻测试。但是,无论链路长度如何,CCA 线的双绞线通常都会有直流电阻不平衡,因为它们导线之间缺乏一致性(见侧栏上直流环路电阻和直流电阻不平衡)。还应当注意的是,ANSI/TIA 和 ISO/IEC 标准要求双绞数据线为 100% 铜缆。

线对内和线对间的直流电阻不平衡测试

IEEE 标准 802.3-2012 规定导线之间的直流电阻不平衡最高为 3%,这意味着两根导线之间的直流电阻差不能超过一根双绞线总直流环路电阻的 3%。但是 TIA 和 IEC 标准都不要求将线对内的直流电阻不平衡或线对之间的直流电阻不平衡作为现场测量。没有现场测试要求是因为没有能够测试直流电阻不平衡的现场测试仪,于是这最终成了仅实验室可以执行的测量。但有了 DSX-5000 CableAnalyzer 情况就不同了。此外,IEEE802.3bt 标准要求两个线对之间的直流电阻不平衡最大不超过 7% 或 50m Ω。

直流电阻不平衡测试可以验证线对中的导线是否有相同的电阻,从而提供所需的共模电流以有效地支持 PoE 并避免同一双线对上传输的数据信号发生失真。与仅测试直流环路电阻的其他现场测试仪不同,DSX-5000 可测量直流环路电阻、线对内的直流电阻不平衡、线对之间的直流电阻不平衡。

另外如下面的图 1 所示,DSX-5000 测量的直流环路电阻是一根双绞线中的两根导线的电阻和,而直流电阻不平衡测量的是两根导线的电阻差。线对 1,2-4,5 的线对之间直流电阻不平衡如下图所示,图中是两线对的并联电阻的绝对差。

测试直流电阻不平衡

图 1

虽然现场测试不要求,DSX-5000 CableAnalyzer 可配置为包括通道或永久链路测量的直流电阻不平衡测试限值;如下表 1 所示。

DSX CableAnalyzer 测试极限名称 直流电阻不平衡
信道 永久链路
TIA Cat 5e 永久链路(+全) 0.20 或 3.0% 0.20 或 3.0%
TIA 6 类永久链路(+全) 0.20 或 3.0% 0.20 或 3.0%
TIA 6A 类永久链路(+全) 0.20 或 3.0% 0.20 或 3.0%
ISO11801 PL D 类(+全) 0.20 或 3.0% 0.15 或 3.0%
ISO11801 PL E 类(+全) 0.20 或 3.0% 0.15 或 3.0%
ISO11801 PL2 Ea 类(+全) 0.20 或 3.0% 0.15 或 3.0%

如果您要对永久性链路或通道进行测量,则测量使用 DSX-5000,所选测试限值使用“通过/失败”标准,如图 2 所示。如果您发现 PoE 问题并希望排除线缆原因,这便是有用的信息,可使您确信新安装的线缆不仅可以传送数据,还可以支持 PoE。

3052 PoE 永久链路通道

图 2

现场测试标准已是测试要求的最低标准,我们也应该将直流电阻不平衡测试作为现场扩展测试,以帮助解决与 CCA 线相关的问题,以及更好地保证满足 IEEE 标准的强制 PoE 要求。

随着更多的企业部署多种千兆以太网技术以及更多利用数据线来供电的 PoE 设备,线对内的直流电阻不平衡测试和线对之间的直流电阻不平衡测试将成为更加重要的问题。随着 PoE Plus 部署的不断增长,特别是需要它的 802.11ac WAP 的问世,直流电阻不平衡将成为更加重要的问题,因为更多的电流经过导线会使 PoE 更容易受到直流电阻和电阻不平衡的影响。将要推出的 PoE Plus Plus 能够为设备提供高达 60 瓦的更高功率。

别让您的 PoE 系统受到平衡的影响。通过 DSX-5000 进行直流电阻不平衡测试是现今和未来 PoE 系统的简便、低成本的保证。

使用正确的终端工具提高终端一致性

PoE Systems Fn-JackRapid

使用正确的终端工具有助于提高 PoE 系统中终端的一致性并避免直流电阻不平衡。为电信线制作终端的打线工具有三种—手动、冲压和多线。手动打线工具的力量大部分来自人力,这会使线对中两根导线间更容易产生不一致。您很难每次为每根导线都使用相同的力,特别是手部疲劳时。

对安装人员力量需要较少的冲压工具是更好的选择,但这些工具仍会造成导线间的终端不一致。保证终端一致的最佳选择是多线工具,如一次挤压便可为所有线对制作终端的 JackRapid,可对所有导线提供相同的力量。多线工具也可缓解手部疲劳,与使用单线终端工具相比制作接头的速度提高八倍,从而显著减少了安装时间。更快、更可靠且一致的终端组合可以减少高达 80% 的返工和成本。

直流环路电阻与直流电阻不平衡

直流环路电阻和直流电阻不平衡之间经常会产生混淆。提供特定的功率的能力取决于特定长度线缆的总直流环路电阻。直流环路电阻的计算方法是线对中两根导线的电阻和。根据 IEEE 标准,线对的通道直流环路电阻应为 25 Ω 或以下,而恒定链路直流环路电阻应为 21 Ω 或以下。


 
 
Powered By OneLink

White Paper: DC Resistance Unbalance Testing: Easy, Low-Cost Insurance for Your PoE Systems | www.flukenetworks.com

White Paper: DC Resistance Unbalance Testing: Easy, Low-Cost Insurance for Your PoE Systems

Originally ratified by IEEE in 1999 and 2003 respectively, gigabit Ethernet (1000BASE-T) and power over Ethernet (PoE) are two network technologies that today are considered the norm. With both technologies supported by an estimated 85 percent of the installed cabling base, they have proliferated in tandem over the past decade to the point where the many enterprise entities are deploying, or planning to deploy, gigabit Ethernet in the horizontal LAN environment and more PoE devices than ever before.

    TABLE OF CONTENTS

  • Understanding PoE and DC Resistance Unbalance
  • What Causes DC Resistance Unbalance?
  • Testing for DC Resistance Unbalance
  • Increase Termination Consistency with the Right Termination Tool
  • DC Loop Resistance vs. DC Resistance Unbalance

While 10/100BASE-T (i.e., 10 and 100 Mbps) applications required only two cable pairs for transmission, leaving two spare pairs of a four- pair twisted cable available for PoE, gigabit Ethernet requires all four cable pairs for bidirectional transmission. In this scenario, PoE is delivered over pairs that are simultaneously transmitting data.

Often referred to as phantom power and accomplished by applying a common-mode voltage between two pairs in a four-pair Ethernet cable, PoE is intended to not interfere with data transmission. However, DC resistance unbalance in a PoE connection has the potential to cause significant problems. While not required in TIA or IEC performance field testing, resistance unbalance is specified in the IEEE’s PoE standards and making DC resistance unbalance testing a field test requirement will go a long way in ensuring that devices get the power and data they need. As we move towards a new PoE standard in the future, to be known as IEEE 802.3bt and capable of up to 100W, that two pair PoE delivery will move to a four pair PoE delivery. Not only will DC resistance unbalance within a pair be a potential cause of problems, but we will also need to consider pair to pair DC parallel resistance unbalance as another source of potential problems.

Understanding PoE and DC Resistance Unbalance

The IEEE 802.3af standard for PoE was developed to provide remote low-voltage power to devices over twisted-pair data cabling. Power is injected by power sourcing equipment (PSE), which is typically a PoE-enabled switch or a mid-span power device. The power can be used by a wide range of powered devices (PDs) at the other end, including VoIP phones; wireless access points (WAPs), wall clocks, sensors, cameras, access control panels and more.

The original IEEE 802.3af standard allows for delivering a maximum of 15.4 W (13 W available) of power over two pairs, while the current IEEE 802.3at PoE Plus standard increases the allowed maximum power to 30 W (25.5 W available). The new proposed IEEE 802.3bt PoE Plus Plus standard is designed to provide 100W of power when ratified. PoE Plus was developed in response to more power-hungry devices such as higher power WAPs, pan-tilt-zoom cameras, LED display boards and more. In fact, the latest 802.11ac standard for gigabit Wi-Fi has higher power requirements due to more sophisticated signal processing and a higher frame rate that requires PoE Plus. PoE Plus Plus is being developed to provide power to even more power hungry devices such as multiple radio WAPs, CCTV cameras that also include PTZ and heaters, LED Data Centre lighting, with many more uses being envisaged.

The IEEE 802.3af and 802.3at standards specifies two methods for PSE to provide power using two pairs of a four-pair data cable– Alternative A and B. In Alternative B, power is delivered over spare pairs using Pairs 1 and 4. This is compatible with data signals that only use two pairs (Pairs 2 and 3), including 10/100BASE-T applications. In Alternative A, the power is delivered simultaneously with data over Pairs 2 and 3, which is compatible with both two-pair and four-pair applications, including 10/100BASE-T and 1000BASE-T.

In Alternative A, power is transmitted over the data pairs by applying a common-mode voltage. Power is received and returned using the center tap of a PD’s transformer, which splits the current between each conductor of the pair. When the resistance of each wire in the pair is equal, the DC resistance unbalance (the difference in resistance between two conductors) is at zero, current is split evenly, and common-mode current is achieved.

3052 PoE Resistance Unbalance

With IEEE 802.3bt, we move to a 4 pair based system to deliver the required power. We still have our PSE and PD devices, with the current flow now shared among the four pairs.

3052 PoE System

While devices can tolerate some DC resistance unbalance, too much unbalance causes the potential for saturation of the transformer. This can ultimately distort the waveform of Ethernet data signals, causing bit errors, retransmits and even non-functioning data links. With a four pair PoE system some DC resistance unbalance between the pairs can be tolerated, but if it is excessive, PoE will stop functioning.

What Causes DC Resistance Unbalance?

DC resistance unbalance within a pair and between pairs can occur in a PoE data link for a variety of reasons. While problems with transformers such as an offset center tap can occur at both PSE and end devices, DC resistance unbalance is more often caused by poor workmanship, inconsistent terminations and subpar cable quality.

Poor installation practices have long been at the crux of network performance problems. Practices such as ensuring minimum bend radius and maintaining pair twist as close to the point of termination as possible are key to meeting performance parameters, especially in higher frequency applications like 1000BASE-T and 10GBASE-T. While PoE relies more on the DC resistance of a specific length of cable rather than high-frequency transmission characteristics, there are some installation practices that matter.

Consistency in individual conductor terminations is important to preventing DC resistance unbalance. Punching down the individual conductors to the proper IDC tower of a network jack displaces the conductor’s insulation to expose the copper and make the connection.

Ensuring proper and consistent seating during this practice isn’t always easy. A certain amount of force is required to seat the conductors, and inexperience, hand fatigue and larger conductor gauge sizes can all impact the ability to maintain consistency. When two conductors of a pair carrying PoE are terminated inconsistently, DC resistance unbalance can occur. Using the correct termination tool can help increase termination consistency and avoid DC resistance unbalance in PoE systems (see sidebar on termination tools).

Conscientious terminations must also be coupled with precision manufacturing processes as the overall quality of the cable and connectivity can also impact DC resistance unbalance. Manufacturing quality UTP cable requires careful selection of copper conductors and the use of stringent controls to maintain the proper physical geometry of the cable. When a poor quality cable exhibits variations in the diameter, concentricity (roundness), contour and smoothness of the copper conductors, there is a higher risk for DC resistance unbalance in PoE systems.

One of the growing concerns in the industry today is the significant amount of cables containing copper coated aluminum (CCA), copper coated steel and other non-standard conductors masquerading as Category 5e or even Category 6 cables. While these cables can be appealing to those looking for inexpensive networking solutions, CCA cables are not compliant with industry standards and do not support PoE applications due to their increased DC resistance, which can be 55% greater than for a solid copper cable of the same diameter. The greater resistance results in greater heating of the cable and lower voltage available at the powered device.

Unfortunately, testing for DC resistance is not always enough to determine support for PoE as some CCA cables will pass DC loop resistance testing for shorter links. However, regardless of link length, CCA cable will typically feature DC resistance unbalance on pairs due to lack of consistency across conductors (see sidebar on DC loop resistance vs. DC resistance unbalance). It should also be noted that both the ANSI/TIA and ISO/IEC standards require twisted pair data cable to be 100% copper.

Testing for DC Resistance Unbalance within a Pair and Between Pairs

IEEE Std 802.3-2012 specifies a maximum DC resistance unbalance of 3% between conductors, meaning that the difference in DC resistance between two conductors is no more than 3% of the total DC loop resistance of a pair. However, both TIA and IECs standards do not require DC resistance unbalance testing within a pair or DC resistance unbalance testing between pairs as a field measurement. The lack of field test requirement has been in part due to no field tester that was capable of testing for DC resistance unbalance, so it was left as a laboratory measurement only. That is no longer the case with the DSX-5000 CableAnalyzer. Furthermore, the proposed IEEE 802.3bt standard requires the DC resistance unbalance between two pairs to be no more than the greater of 7% or 50m Ω.

DC resistance unbalance testing verifies that the conductors in a pair have equal resistance and will therefore enable the common-mode current needed to effectively support PoE and avoid distortion of the data signals transmitting on the same pair. Unlike other field testers that only test DC loop resistance, the DSX-5000 measures DC loop resistance, DC resistance unbalance within a pair and DC resistance unbalance between pairs.

As shown in Figure 1 below, the DSX-5000 measures DC loop resistance as a sum of the resistance of two conductors in a pair, while DC resistance unbalance is a measure of the difference in resistance between the two conductors. DC resistance unbalance between pairs is shown for pairs 1,2-4,5, being the absolute difference in the parallel resistances of the two pairs.

Testing DC Resistance Unbalance

Figure 1

While not required in field testing, the DSX-5000 CableAnalyzer can be configured to include DC Resistance Unbalance test limits for either Channel or Permanent Link Measurements; as shown in Table 1 below.

DSX CableAnalyzer Test Limit Name DC Resistance Unbalanced
Channel Permanent Link
TIA Cat 5e Perm. Link (+All) 0.20 or 3.0% 0.20 or 3.0%
TIA Cat 6 Perm. Link (+All) 0.20 or 3.0% 0.20 or 3.0%
TIA Cat 6A Perm. Link (+All) 0.20 or 3.0% 0.20 or 3.0%
ISO11801 PL Class D (+All) 0.20 or 3.0% 0.15 or 3.0%
ISO11801 PL Class E (+All) 0.20 or 3.0% 0.15 or 3.0%
ISO11801 PL2 Class Ea (+All) 0.20 or 3.0% 0.15 or 3.0%

If you are making a permanent link or channel measurement, the measurement is made by the DSX-5000 with a PASS/FAIL applied for the test limit selected, as shown in Figure 2. This is useful information if you observe PoE issues and want to rule out the cabling as a potential cause and gives you confidence that newly installed cabling will not only transmit data but can also support PoE.

3052 PoE Permanent Link Channel

Figure 2

With field testing standards being a minimum set of test requirements, consideration should be given to including DC resistance unbalance testing as an extended field testing requirement, to help deal with issues surrounding CCA cable and to provide greater assurance for meeting IEEE-mandated PoE requirements.

Testing for DC resistance unbalance within a pair and DC resistance unbalance between pairs will become of even greater concern as more enterprise entities deploy multiple gigabit Ethernet technologies and more PoE devices that utilize methods of delivering power simultaneously with data. As the deployment of PoE Plus continues to grow, especially with the introduction of 802.11ac WAPs that require it, DC resistance unbalance will become an even greater concern as more current flowing through a conductor makes PoE even more susceptible to DC resistance and resistance unbalance. On the horizon is PoE Plus Plus, offering even higher power for devices that require up to 60 Watts.

Don’t let your PoE systems hang in the balance. Requiring DC resistance unbalance testing via the DSX-5000 is an easy, low-cost insurance for today’s and tomorrow’s PoE systems.

Increase Termination Consistency with the Right Termination Tool

PoE Systems Fn-JackRapid

Using the correct termination tool can help increase termination consistency and avoid DC resistance unbalance in PoE systems. There are three types of punchdown tools for terminating telecommunications cables—manual, impact and multi-wire. Manual punchdown tools require the bulk of the force to come from human power, which has the potential for higher inconsistency across two conductors of a pair. It’s very difficult to use the exact amount of force for each conductor every time, especially once hand fatigue sets in.

Impact tools that require less force on the part of the installer are a better option, but these tools can still result in termination inconsistency from conductor to conductor. The best option for ensuring termination consistency are multi-wire tools such as JackRapid that terminate all pairs with one squeeze, providing an equivalent amount of force on all conductors. Multi-wire tools also ease hand fatigue and significantly cut installation time by terminating jacks up to eight time faster compared to using single-wire termination tools. The combination of faster, more reliable and consistent terminations reduces rework and cost by as much as 80%.

DC Loop Resistance vs. DC Resistance Unbalance

There is often some confusion over the difference between DC loop resistance and DC resistance unbalance. The ability to deliver a certain amount of power is dependent on the total DC loop resistance of a specific length of cable. DC loop resistance is calculated as the sum of the DC resistance of two conductors in a pair. According to IEEE standards, the channel DC loop resistance of a pair shall be 25 Ω or less while permanent link DC loop resistance shall be 21 Ω or less.