产品简介:DSX 同轴电缆适配器

同轴电缆早已运用于数据和视频信号的传送。在同轴电缆的物理结构中,中心导体由一个或多个护罩包围,使其具有很高的抗电磁干扰性。这样同轴电缆可以远距离传送高频信号,同时保持高信噪比。同轴电缆是第一个支持使用 IEEE802.3 标准 10BASE2 和 10BASE5 的 Ethernet 的媒体之一,分别能达到最多 185 米或 500 的 Ethernet 传输。同轴电缆还广泛用于在住宅和商业应用中传送宽带视频信号。

对于任何同轴电缆,安装的成功依赖于使用高品质的元件和正确的安装方法,尤其是连接器的安装。配合 DSX-5000 CableAnalyzer™ 使用时,DSX-CHA003 同轴电缆适配器可使您确定安装的同轴电缆的传输性能,以确保其在目标应用中符合预期性能。DSX-CHA003 同轴电缆适配器支持对 50 ohm、75 ohm 和 93 ohm 同轴电缆进行测试。

ANSI/TIA-568-C.4 指定 75 ohm 宽带同轴电缆的要求以支持 CATV 电视,以及受 ANSI/TIA-568-C.0 定义的星型拓扑结构支持的其他应用。在此拓扑结构中,设备出口和第一个分配装置(通常为分路器)之间的布线段被称为布线子系统 1。分配装置之间的布线段称为布线子系统 2 或 3。支持 6 系列 (RG6) 和 11 系列 (RG11) 系列布线。RG6 布线针对所有这三个布线子系统的长度限制均为 46m (150 英尺)。RG11 布线针对布线子系统 1 的长度限制为 90m(285 英尺),针对布线子系统 2 或 3 的长度限制为 100m(328 英尺)。对于每个布线系列和长度限制,TIA-568-C.4 规定 5 至 1002 MHz 频率范围的插入损耗,可以使用 DSX-CHA003 同轴电缆适配器进行测试。实际插入损耗性能深受安装的同轴电缆段的长度的影响。虽然性能已因电缆损坏或连接器安装不良而显著下降,远远低于 90 米的网段仍可满足 90m 链路的限制。为此原因,DSX-5000 还提供长度调节测试极限值,可根据该布线段的实际测量长度在指定的频率范围内自动调节插入损耗极限值。这些长度调节测试极限值可以在测试极限(值)名称的末尾以“LS”表示。

在电信应用中,Digital Signal Level 3 (DS-3) 格式经常用于在办公中心的 75 ohm 同轴电缆上传输通信信号。735 型电缆可以覆盖的最大距离长达 225 英尺 (69m),而 734 型电缆可以覆盖的最长距离为 450 英尺 (137m)。RG6 电缆也可以用来在短距离内传输 DS-3 信号。DSX-5000 提供用于全部三种电缆类型的长度缩放 DS-3 测试极限值。图 1 提供的是一个使用长度缩放测试极限(值)的 734 型同轴电缆 100 英尺 (30m) 网段的插入损耗测试结果示例。图 2 显示的是使用长度缩放测试极限(值)测试 734 型同轴电缆的 450 英尺 (137m) 网段的结果。在各个示例中,都根据 734 型电缆的测量长度的预期插入损耗对每个频率的极限值进行了调节。影响电缆通信传输性能的电缆或连接器的任何瑕疵在任何一种情况下都很容易识别,即使图 2 中的电缆有 4 倍长,预计电缆的插入损耗达 4 倍之多。

对于数据应用,IEEE Std 802.3-2012 中定义了支持使用 10BASE2 或 10BASE5 物理层 (PHY) 的 Ethernet 的 50 ohm 同轴电缆的要求。这些都是一些最早的 IEEE 802,3 定义的 PHY,如今在长度大于 100 米的应用中它们仍是必需的。在布线中,10BASE2 操作范围长达 185 米,而 10BASE5 操作范围长达 500 米,分别满足条款 10.5.1.2 和 8.4.1.2 中的插入损耗要求。DSX-5000 基于这些要求提供测试极限值。

图 1.测量的 100 英尺
型 734 电缆的插入损耗和极限值。

图 2.测量的 450 英尺
734 型电缆的插入损耗和极限值。

订购信息
型号 名称 说明
DSX-COAX DSX 同轴电缆适配器套装 DSX-5000 CableAnalyzer 的同轴电缆适配器 (2) 套装,以 F 到 BNC 连接适配器 (2)、F 到 F 连接适配器 (2) 和 12 英寸 RG59 电缆作为套装参考。
DSX-CHA003 DSX 同轴电缆适配器 DSX-5000 CableAnalyzer 的单个同轴电缆适配器
 
 
Powered By OneLink

Datasheet: DSX Coax Adapter | www.flukenetworks.com

Datasheet: DSX Coax Adapter

Coaxial cabling has long been used for distribution of data and video signals. The physical construction of coaxial cable, with a center conductor surrounded by one or more shields, makes it highly resistant to electromagnetic interference. This allows coaxial cable to carry high frequency signals over long distances while maintaining a high Signal-to-Noise ratio. Coaxial cable was one of the first media to support Ethernet with IEEE802.3 standardizing 10BASE2 and 10BASE5, enabling Ethernet transmission up to 185 meters or 500 meters, respectively. Coax is also widely used to distribute broadband video signals in residential and business applications.

For any coaxial cable, a successful installation is dependent on the use of high quality components and proper installation techniques, especially installation of connectors. When used with the DSX-5000 CableAnalyzer™, the DSX-CHA003 Coax Adapter provides you with the capability to characterize the transmission performance of the installed coaxial cabling to assure that it meets the performance expectations for its intended applications. The DSX-CHA003 Coax Adapter supports testing of 50 ohm, 75 ohm, and 93 ohm coaxial cable.

ANSI/TIA-568-C.4 specifies requirements for 75 ohm broadband coaxial cabling to support CATV television, and other applications supported by the star topology defined by ANSI/TIA-568-C.0. In this topology, the cabling segment between the Equipment Outlet and the first Distributor (typically, a splitter) is referred to as Cabling Subsystem 1. Cabling segments between Distributors are referred to as Cabling Subsystem 2 or 3. Both Series 6 (RG6) and Series 11 (RG11) cabling is supported. The length limit for RG6 cabling is 46m (150 feet) for all three Cabling Subsystem. The length limit for RG11 cabling is 90m (285 feet) for Cabling Subsystem 1, and 100m (328 feet) for cabling Subsystem 2 or 3. For each Cabling Series and length limit, TIA-568-C.4 provides limits for Insertion Loss over the frequency range of 5 to 1002 MHz which can be tested using the DSX-CHA003 Coax Adapter. Actual Insertion Loss performance is strongly influenced by the length of the installed coaxial cabling segment. A segment much shorter than 90 meters may meet the limit for a 90m link even though its performance has been significantly degraded by damage to the cable or poorly installed connectors. For this reason, DSX-5000 also provides Length-Scaled test limits which automatically adjust the Insertion Loss limit across the specified frequency range based on the actual measured length of the cabling segment. These Length-Scaled test limits can be recognized by the “LS” at the end of the test limit name.

In telecommunications applications, Digital Signal Level 3 (DS-3) formats are often used to carry traffic in Central Offices on 75 ohm coaxial cable. Type 735 cable can be used to cover distances up to 225 feet (69m), while Type 734 cable can be used up to 450 feet (137m). RG6 cable may also be used to carry DS-3 signals over shorter distances. DSX-5000 provides Length-Scaled DS-3 test limits for all three cable types. Figure 1 provides an example Insertion Loss test result from a 100 foot (30m) segment of Type 734 coaxial cabling using a Length-Scaled test limit. Figure 2 shows the result from testing a 450 foot (137m) segment of Type 734 coaxial cabling using the same Length-Scaled test limit. In each example, the limit value at each frequency is adjusted based on the expected Insertion Loss for the measured length of Type 734 cable. Any flaws in the cable or connectors affecting their communications transmissions performance would be readily identified in either case, even though the cable in Figure 2 is more than 4 times as long with 4 times the expected cable Insertion Loss.

For data applications, IEEE Std 802.3-2012 defines requirements for 50 ohm coaxial cabling to support Ethernet using 10BASE2 or 10BASE5 Physical Layer devises (PHY). These were some of the earliest PHYs defined by IEEE 802,3 and they still find application today in places where distances greater than 100 meters are required. 10BASE2 can operate up to 185 meters and 10BASE5 can operate up to 500 meters on cabling that meets the Insertion Loss requirements of Clauses 10.5.1.2 and 8.4.1.2, respectively. DSX-5000 provides Test Limits based on these requirements.

Figure 1. Measured Insertion Loss and limit for 100
foot Type 734 cable.

Figure 2. Measured Insertion Loss and limit for 450 foot
Type 734 cable.

Ordering information
Model Number Name Description
DSX-COAX DSX Coaxial Adapter Set Set of (2) Coax Adapters for DSX-5000 CableAnalyzer, with (2) F-to-BNC connector adapters, (2) F-to-F connector adapters, and 12-inch RG59 cable for Set Reference.
DSX-CHA003 DSX Coaxial Adapter Single Coax Adapter for DSX-5000 CableAnalyzer