应用说明:为什么校准电缆认证设备?

线缆认证仪

简介

您很在意您的电缆测试仪器。您购买名牌测试仪器,希望其准确度较高。您知道有些人会将他们的测试仪送到实验室校准,您想了解原因。毕竟,这些仪器都是电子器件 – 没有仪表移动会超出校准范围。那么这些校准人员到底会做哪些工作 – 仅是更换电池吗?

尤其在校准测试仪,不能使用测试仪时,这些担心都是合乎情理的。但,让我们考虑一些其他合理担忧。例如,如果某个事件导致您的测试仪不够准确,或甚至是不安全,怎么办?如果您正在使用的极小公差以及准确度测量对正常操作昂贵过程或安全系统至关重要,怎么办?如果您正在预测项目下一步行动或损耗测量,并且用于相同测量的两个测试仪明显不一致,应怎么办?

为什么校准电缆认证设备?

现场验证结构化数据通信电缆安装是一项高风险任务。是否收到工作报酬通常取决于所有成千上万条链路的成功认证。错误的认证设备会给方方面面造成巨大影响。例如,假设认证设备错误地将不合格链路判定为合格。如此,系统的未来用户会遇到网络问题,可追溯到电缆生产厂。这些问题会给安装人员带来法律诉讼,而且他们还应负责返工修复。此外,如果认证设备判定合格链路不合格。那么安装人员将在返工修复方面白白浪费时间和金钱。

Fluke Networks 设计团队专注于开发坚固强大的认证设备,其设计能从根本上保证准确度和可靠性。我们的生产团队致力于将缺陷仪器出厂的几率降低为零。然而,在设备投入使用后,存在众多影响性能的不可抗力因素。

此类因素只不过是时间流逝和相关环境压力。我们测量系统的组件非常稳定,可作为电阻器、电容器和集成电路等设备。但是,这些组件必定会随着时间推移出现轻微变化,主要原因是操作和存储运输期间温度和湿度的变化。晚上,可将仪器放在亚冷冻的汽车行李箱中,随后可迅速恢复到常温,进行日常测试。即使在受控环境中,电路组件也会因测量引擎的功耗(在工作期间循环开关)而出现升温和冷却。另一个较严重因素便是极端环境导致的缺陷。假设仪器从高梯子跌落到混凝土上。仪器很可能会完好无损,因为我们的设计可抗冲击,同时执行了严格的合格性测试。但组件仍有可能松动或损坏。此组件准确度可能会受到轻微影响,导致错误判定不合格或合格。或者,假设仪器受到材料污染,影响了印刷电路板洁净表面。这可导致漏电,影响电阻测量的精确度。显然,我们可以设想随着时间推移降低仪器准确度的预期和非预期因素。

什么是校准?

可通过常规仪器校准显著降低所有这些不确定因素的影响,同时还带来了几个益处。校准的第一步本质上是一种测量评估和纠正过程,在此过程中将仪器与一系列全面的参考校准标准联系起来。仪器将测量每个标准,并存储内部校准数据,以便准确对中后续标准测量。此过程一个非常有用的附加优点便是同时还可执行全面自检。对于每个工件,都会将仪器的内部校准数据与合格/不合格模板进行比较。不合格表示电路故障。这些模板都是通过严格统计分析大量仪器而创建的,可作为仪器健康状况的高灵敏度测试。

第二步要测量一组验证工件。从仪器角度而言,这些工件与电缆链路的操作机理非常相似。例如,插入损耗组件产生的测量值与100计电缆链路非常相似。该工件可用作传输标准。要用高准确度和配有 NIST 可追踪台式设备的实验室系统测量每个工件。存档结果数据,并与仪器测试结果进行比较。差异便是观察到的测量准确度,根据仪器不确定性技术指标,比较差异与计算的合格/不合格极限。

总之,该过程可集中仪器的测量值,执行高灵敏度自检,并根据 NIST 可追踪传输标准验证准确度。用户将收到达到最高操作灵敏度的仪器。

校准频率

问题不是是否校准 – 我们知道那是肯定的。而是何时校准。我们不能想当然地预测某个仪器的精度偏移。但是,凭借数十年的生产历史以及全球使用的成千上万个仪器,我们有可靠的经验基础来支持我们建议的校准频率。一般而言,我们建议每年至少校准一次,因为如此可在成本/停机时间之间达到合理平衡,同时还能维持高操作性能。

其他情况下,建议进行其他非计划校准。例如,应在执行重大作业之前,优先考虑校准。同样,开始作业前,成功校准能为工作结果准确度提供最可靠的保证。或如果出现潜在破坏事件,例如强力撞击或极端温度循环,也应考虑校准。

 

尽管本文重点介绍的是校准测试仪,同样也适用于您的模块。

校准不是“调优”测试仪器,而是确保您能安全可靠地使用仪器,获得您所需的精确测试结果。这是一种保证质量的方式。只有您了解测试电缆的重要性,否则不会开始测试仪器。与电缆需要测试一样,仪器也需要测试。

 

利用金牌支持服务获得免费年度校准

金牌支持服务包括每年提供一次免费校准及返厂翻新。我们将使用 Fluke Networks 专有的各种测试程序对您的线缆分析仪或光纤束进行精确校准(提供校准证书 - 有偿提供认证追溯),使用正品修理件对其进行调整和维修(如有必要),对适用的软件和固件进行更新,测试所有附件并替换有缺陷的附件,然后进行清理,并对性能进行核实。通常校准工作时间为 5 个工作日,但金牌会员租用装置可进行 BF 校准(多数地区提供)。在 www.flukenetworks.com/goldsupport,或通过联系您当地的代表或金牌销售人员 888-283-5853了解金牌支持服务详情。

非金牌会员仍可通过任何一家 Fluke Networks 授权服务中心得到卓越的校准或维修服务。只要找到离您最近的服务中心,服务中心的员工就会帮助您对您的 Fluke Networks 设备进行校准或修理或拨打电话 1-888-993-5853联系我们。

 
 
Powered By OneLink

Application Note: Why Calibrate Your Cable Certifier? | www.flukenetworks.com

Application Note: Why Calibrate Your Cable Certifier?

Introduction

You are serious about your cable test instruments. You buy top brands, and you expect them to be accurate. You know some people send their testers to a lab for calibration, and you wonder why. After all, they are all electronic – there’s no meter movement to go out of calibration. What do those calibration folks do, anyhow – just change the battery?

These are valid concerns, especially since you can’t use your tester while it’s out for calibration. But, let’s consider some other valid concerns. For example, what if an event rendered your tester less accurate, or maybe even unsafe? What if you are working with tight tolerances and accurate measurement is key to proper operation of expensive processes or safety systems? What if you are trending NEXT or loss measurements across your projects, and two testers used for the same measurement significantly disagree?

Why calibrate your cable certifier?

Field certification of structured datacomm cable installations is a high stakes game. Receipt of payment for a job is usually contingent on successful certification of all the links, which often number in the thousands. A faulty certifier can play havoc in various ways. For instance, suppose the certifier yields false passes of bad links. In that case, the future users of the system could experience networking problems, traceable to the cable plant. These problems could result in legal action against the installer, who would also be responsible for rework and repair. On the other hand, suppose the certifier fails good links. Then the installer will expend needless time and money on repair and rework.

The Fluke Networks design team focuses on creating robust certifiers whose design intrinsically guarantees accuracy and reliability. Our production team strives to bring to zero the chance of shipping a defective instrument. However, once the instrument is in service, various unavoidable factors come into play that can affect performance.

Such a factor is simply the passage of time and associated environmental stresses. The component parts of our measurement systems are highly stable, being devices such as resistors, capacitors, and integrated circuits. However, these components will inevitably exhibit slight variations over time, due largely to routine temperature and humidity variation that occurs both operationally as well as during storage and transport. An instrument could spend the night in a sub-freezing car trunk, followed by rapid warmup to a normal office environment for the day’s testing. Even in a controlled environment, the circuit assemblies warm up and cool down due to the power draw of the measurement engine as it cycles on and off during the work day. Another more insidious factor could be a defect induced by an extreme environmental event. Suppose an instrument is dropped onto concrete from a tall ladder. Very likely the instrument will survive, since we design for impact and perform rigorous qualification testing. But still, a component might be loosened or otherwise damaged. This component may cause subtle accuracy degradation, resulting in false fails or passes. Or, suppose an instrument becomes contaminated with a material that compromises the clean surface of a printed circuit board. This could result in current leakage, adversely affecting precision resistance measurements. Clearly, we can envision factors both expected and unexpected that over time reduce one’s confidence of accuracy.

What is calibration?

All of these uncertainties can be greatly mitigated through routine instrument calibration, which has several benefits. The first step in calibration is essentially a measurement evaluation and correction process, during which the instrument is connected to a comprehensive series of reference calibration standards. The instrument measures each standard and stores internal correction data so that subsequent measurements of the standard are precisely centered. A very useful side benefit of this process is that a comprehensive self-test is performed at the same time. For each artifact, the instrument’s internal calibration data is compared to a pass/fail template. Failure indicates a faulty circuit. These templates were created through rigorous statistical analysis of a large population of instruments, and serve as a highly sensitive test of instrument health.

The second step involves measuring a set of Verification Artifacts. These artifacts behave much like a cable link from the instrument’s point of view. For instance, the Insertion Loss artifact yields a measurement that is similar to a 100 meter cable link. The artifacts are used as transfer standards. Each one has been measured with a laboratory system that employs highly accurate and NIST traceable bench equipment. The resulting data is archived and compared with the instrument’s test result. The difference is the observed measurement accuracy, which is compared to a calculated pass/fail limit based on the instrument’s uncertainty specifications.

To summarize, the process centers the instrument’s measurements, performs a highly sensitive self-test, and verifies accuracy against NIST traceable transfer standards. The owner receives his instrument in the highest state of operational readiness.

Calibration frequency

The question isn’t whether to calibrate – we can see that’s a given. The question is when to calibrate. We can’t predict with certainty the accuracy drift of any single instrument. However, with decades of production history, and with tens of thousands of instruments in service worldwide, we have a solid empirical base to support our recommendations for calibration frequency. As a general rule, we recommend calibration on a yearly basis at a minimum, as a reasonable balance between costs / down time, while maintaining high operational confidence.

Other circumstances may suggest additional off-schedule calibration. For instance, calibration should be considered prior to undertaking a very large job. Conversely, successful calibration immediately following a job will provide the very highest confidence of accurate results for that job. Or, if a potentially damaging event has occurred, such as a hard impact or an extreme temperature cycle, calibration should be considered.

 

While this article focuses on calibrating testers, the same reasoning applies to your modules.

Calibration isn’t a matter of “fine-tuning” your test instrument. Rather, it ensures you can safely and reliably use instruments to get the accurate test results you need. It’s a form of quality assurance. You know the value of testing cables, or you wouldn’t have test instrumentation to begin with. Just as cables need testing, so do your test instruments.

 

Get Annual Calibration for Free with Gold Support

Gold support includes one calibration and factory refresh per year at no charge. Your cable analyzer or fiber bundles will be precisely calibrated to factory specifications (calibration certificate provided – calibration traceable with data is available for extra charge) using the full battery of proprietary Fluke Networks test procedures, adjusted/repaired as necessary with genuine repair parts, software and firmware updates applied, all accessories tested and replaced if defective, then cleaned and performance verified. Typical calibration turn-around time is 5 business days, but Gold member loaner units are available for BF calibration (available in most regions). Learn more about Gold Support at www.flukenetworks.com/goldsupport, contact your local representative or Gold Sales 888-283-5853.

Non-Gold members can still receive outstanding service for calibration or repair from any of the Authorized Fluke Networks Service Centers. Simply find the Service Center closest to you and they will help you with your Fluke Networks repair and calibration needs or contact us at 1-888-993-5853.