白皮书

SYSTIMAX® 高速迁移解决方案测试策略

下载 PDF

概述

对带宽需求的爆炸式增长推动数据中心团队重新连接他们的网络基础设施,从而支持更快的数据速度、更低的延迟要求和无人能够预测的未来变化。说起来容易做起来难。

虽然数据中心已过渡到 25G、40G、50G 和 100G,但标准已制定到了 400G 甚至更高。根据以太网路线图判断,未来的路线既不透明也不直接。受诸多新技术(包括更高效率的调制、新传输方案和新光纤类型)的推动,数据中心经理们面临着比以往更多的选择。

有数不清的迁移路径可从当前网络速度迁移到未来您将需要的更高速度。这些路径都混合使用各种技术、速度和标准。您的基础设施必须能支持全部这些路径。选择了正确的基础设施并安装之后,正确地认证系统不仅可以提供保修所需的文件,还能保证它能支持您现在和未来的应用。

SYSTIMAX / 高速迁移产品

CommScope 的高速迁移平台是与您的基础设施持续开发对接的统一、端对端的通道方式。该产品组合中包含模块化组件 —— 高速光纤、超低损耗 MPO 连接器、超高密度光纤面板、自动基础设施管理 (AIM) 和网络计划工具。综合到一起后,无论是现在还是未来,它们使您的基础设施能够调整、变化和扩展。

CommScope 的高速迁移平台不仅是创新的解决方案,它提供支持更高速度和新兴应用的长期策略 —— 无需彻底重新构建。

超低损耗连通性

SYSTIMAX 超低损耗 (ULL) 光纤解决方案包含高带宽光纤和出厂预端接的 ULL 连通性。因此具有优异的损耗性能。在整个通道中使用的 ULL 解决方案可以实现更高的速度、更长的链路跨度和更复杂的拓扑,同时支持实现运行可靠性所需的物理层设计。对于包括超大规模部署的单模应用,CommScope 的 G.657.A2 光纤为宏观和微观弯曲提供最低的弯曲损耗,同时完全兼容 G.652.D 光纤。ULL 为新兴 PAM4 DR 和 DR4 100/400G 应用提供了广泛的空间。

图 1. CommScope 的高速迁移解决方案包括超高密度光纤面板(左)、超低损耗模块和适配器包(中),和超低损耗光纤干线(右)。

接线板:HD、UD、EHD 光纤面板

高速迁移面板采用创新的滑动托盘 (EHD) 和滑动拆分托盘设计(UD 和 HD),可以保证对所有光纤和连接的开放访问。更改单个光纤和连接的同时不会影响已上线的回路。更可靠的光纤路由系统,保证前后面板出来的所有线缆均排列有序且易于检修。

HD 面板每机架单位 (RU) 提供 48 个双工 LC 或 32 个 MPO 端口,UD 面板每机架单位配备 72 个双工 LC 或 48 个 MPO 端口。我们的 EHD 面板提供 72 个双工 LC 或 72 个 MPO 端口,专为支持您的核心网络连接而设计。

HD 和 UD 面板支持单模、OM4 和 OM5 多模光纤,并可通过 SYSTIMAX G2 光纤模块和适配器包部署到多种平台。这些 HD 和 UD 面板和模块还启用了智能,可以支持 SYSTIMAX imVision 自动基础设施管理解决方案。EHD 面板使用我们的最高密度 EHD 模块、适配器包和拼接盒以实现高密度的设计灵活性,另外还支持单模、OM4 和 OM5 多模光纤。

TeraSPEED® 单模和 LazrSPEED® OM4 和 OM5 宽带多模光纤

除配备 TeraSPEED 单模和 LazrSPEED OM4 多模光纤外,CommScope 还首创提供 OM5 宽带多模,为诸多新兴应用打开了大门,例如短波多路复用 (SWDM)。

在 CommScope 的开创下,OM5 宽带可在同一根光纤上同时传输四个波长。所以您的容量可以提高四倍,同时利用低损耗、低成本 VCSEL 技术大幅提高您的多模光纤基础设施的价值。

计算损耗限制

不同的光纤应用有不同的最大插入损耗要求。如果损耗过高,它会使信号无法正确地到达远端,从而使链接失败。在设计阶段尽早设计链路性能可以保证您的线缆设备支持您需要运行的应用。损耗预算是根据光纤长度和类型、以及连接器和接头数量和性能进行计算。此计算应该是很简单,但是,承包商报告只有 30% 的技师能熟练地完成此任务。这并不奇怪,在接受调查(Fluke Networks 研究)之前的六个月里,超过四分之一的承包商报告因使用了错误的光纤限值导致光纤测试结果被拒绝。

CommScope 开发了一种光纤性能计算器,可以准确地预测端对端的链路性能和该性能可支持的应用。该计算机工具为高性能链路确定了损耗目标,从而可以确定超低损耗系统可以提供哪些优势 —— 比标准要求好得多的性能。用户只需输入链路类型,然后填写连接器和接头的数量和类型,然后计算机即可计算损耗限值。

图 2. 面向 SYSTIMAX 光纤安装的 CommScope 链路损耗计算器。

简化过程

计算损耗的一个关键值是光纤长度,这需要在计算器中输入,如图 2 中所示。但是,这个看起来简单的步骤实际上却可能很复杂。每个不同长度的链路都需要计算一组独特的限值,即使链路的其他方面都完全相同(光纤类型、接头和连接器数量)。现场认证安装人员需要根据所测试的链路长度仔细选择正确的测试限值。这意味着即使任务中只有一种链路配置,也可能需要几十种不同的限值,这不仅增加了工作复杂度,也会大幅提高出错的可能性。

Fluke Networks CertiFiber® Pro Optical Loss Test set can measure the length of the fiber when testing, offering a solution to the problem. 借助 CertiFiber Pro,操作员在设置测试时只需选择光纤类型,在测试仪中输入连接器和接头数量和类型(图 3)。然后,每次测试时,测试仪会自动测量长度并将其送到内置的 SYSTIMAX 计算器并生成该链路的准确损耗限值。这样便不再需要根据长度计算不同的限值。因为输入的数据较少,所以该过程比计算机计算器还简单,并进一步避免了将限值从计算机传输到测试仪时可能出现的错误。

图 3. CommScope SYSTIMAX 链路损耗计算器已内置到最新版本的 Fluke Networks CertiFiber Pro 光纤损耗测试套件设备。CertiFiber Pros 用户只需从 Fluke Networks 网站免费下载即可将计算器添加到其测试仪。

使用 LinkWare Live 后效率更高

Fluke Networks LinkWare Live 通过将整个项目测试计划和 LL 或 ULL 限值高效载入测试仪,将这个概念提升到了新的高度。该 Web 式服务也提供 SYSTIMAX 损耗计算器的内置版本。项目经理可在办公室中使用计算机或平板设置项目要求,包括 SYSTIMAX 限值。现场技师可通过 Wi-Fi 将设置下载到现场的一台或多台 CertiFiber Pro 设备,这对数据中心等大型项目特别有效。测试时,CertiFiber Pro 使用长度测量结果计算链路的准确限值。测试结果通过 Wi-Fi 上传到 LinkWare Live,使项目经理可以跟进整体进展或查看单个结果。

图 4. 借助 LinkWare Live,项目经理可创建和管理测试设置并将其传输到测试仪。技师可上传测试结果,使项目经理能够跟进工作进展。

准确的损耗测试

测试仪中有了正确的限值后,CertiFiber Pro 即可使测试变得快速而简单。CertiFiber Pro 通过引导客户完成这个流程,避免了使用不正确的基准设置导致的常见问题。然后只需按“测试”即可测试两个波长上的一对光纤损耗,将其与所需限值对比,然后只需三秒即可显示通过或失败。

CommScope 安装人员可以相信 CertiFiber Pro 生成的结果,因为它是经过 CommScope 工程师评估,并证明与实验室测试有很高的相关度。因此,CommScope 接受 CertiFiber Pro 测试结果以用于保修目的。

OM5 测试

CertiFiber Pro 支持行业标准中规定的 850 和 1300 nm 多模测试波长。但是,OM5 预期要使用 850 到 950 nm 范围的收发器。OM5 需要新测试仪吗?

绝对不。电信行业协会专家发现,如果使用了正确的发射条件,例如环形通量,则不同波长之间的连接衰减差异是“限定的”。这意味着在 850 和 1300 nm 上传输的链路在此之间的波长上也有可接受的损耗。其他标准机构证明这是正确的。因此,使用 CertiFiber Pro 提供的两个波长极限 850 nm 和 1300 nm 测试 OM5,即可提供充分且审慎的测试。

图 5. CertiFiber Pro 支持所有 SYSTIMAX 高速迁移光纤类型

总结

Fluke Networks CertiFiber Pro OLTS 自动化了 SYSTIMAX LL 和 ULL 光纤系统测试。该方法可节省时间、减少错误,并为 SYSTIMAX 应用保证认证提供最完整的结果。

White Paper: Testing Strategies for SYSTIMAX® High Speed Migration Solutions | www.flukenetworks.com

White Paper: Testing Strategies for SYSTIMAX® High Speed Migration Solutions

Exploding demand for bandwidth is pushing data center teams to rethink their network infrastructure as they look to support faster data speeds, lower latency requirements and future changes nobody can predict. Easier said than done.

Commscope
Fiber Certification Best Practice

    TABLE OF CONTENTS

  • SYSTIMAX® / High Speed Migration Offering
  • Ultra Low-Loss Connectivity
  • Patch Panels: HD, UD, EHD Fiber Panels
  • TeraSPEED® Singlemode and LazrSPEED® OM4 and OM5 Wideband Multimode Fiber
  • Calculating Loss Limits
  • Simplifying the Process
  • Even More Efficient with LinkWare Live
  • Accurate Loss Testing
  • OM5 Testing

Even as data centers transition to 25G, 40G, 50G and 100G, standards are being developed for 400G and beyond. Judging by the Ethernet roadmap, the path forward is neither clear nor straight. Driven by the emergence of many new technologies including more efficient modulation, new transmission schemes and new fiber types, data center managers are faced with more choices than ever.

There are numerous migration paths from current network speeds to the higher speeds you’ll need in the future. They all use a different mix of technologies, speeds and standards. Your infrastructure must be able to support all of them. Once you’ve selected the right infrastructure and installed it, certifying the system properly will not only provide the documentation you need for a warranty, but will also ensure it’s ready for your applications now and in the future.

SYSTIMAX / High Speed Migration Offering

CommScope’s High Speed Migration platform is a unified, end-to-end channel approach to your infrastructure’s ongoing development. The portfolio consists of modular building blocks—high-speed fiber, ultra low loss MPO connectors, and ultra high-density fiber panels, Automated Infrastructure Management (AIM) and network planning tools. Working together, they enable your infrastructure to adapt, evolve and scale—now and down the road.

More than innovative solutions, CommScope’s High Speed Migration platform provides a long-term strategy for supporting higher speeds and emerging applications—without having to rip and replace.

Ultra Low-Loss Connectivity

SYSTIMAX Ultra Low-Loss (ULL) fiber solutions consist of high-bandwidth fiber and factory pre-terminated ULL connectivity. The result is excellent loss performance. Used throughout the channel, the ULL solutions enable higher speeds, longer link spans and more complex topologies while supporting the physical layer design you need to achieve operational availability. For singlemode applications including hyperscale deployments, CommScope’s G.657.A2 fibers offer the lowest bend losses for macro as well as micro-bending while still being fully compatible with G.652.D fibers. ULL apparatus provide extended reach for emerging PAM4 DR and DR4 100/400G applications.

CommScope's High Speed Migration solution

Figure 1. CommScope's High Speed Migration solution includes Ultra-high-density fiber panels (left), Ultra Low Loss modules and adapter packs (center) and Ultra Low Loss Fiber Trunks (right).

Patch Panels: HD, UD, EHD Fiber Panels

High Speed Migration panels feature innovative sliding- tray (EHD) and sliding split-tray designs (UD and HD) that ensure open access to all fibers and connections. Make changes to individual fibers and connections while ensuring the existing live circuits are not disturbed. A more reliable fiber routing system ensures all cables remain ordered, visible and accessible as they exit the front and rear of the panel.

HD panels offer 48 duplex LC or 32 MPO ports per rack unit (RU) while the UD panels feature 72 duplex LC or 48 MPO ports per RU. Designed to support your core network interconnections, our EHD panels provide 72 duplex LCs or 72 MPO ports.

The HD and UD panels support singlemode, OM4 and OM5 multimode fiber and utilize the SYSTIMAX G2 fiber module and adapter packs to enable deployment across multiple platforms. These HD and UD panels and modules are also intelligence-enabled, ready to support the SYSTIMAX imVision automated infrastructure management solution. The EHD panels use our highest density EHD modules, adapter packs and splice cassettes for high-density design flexibility and also support singlemode, OM4 and OM5 multimode fiber.

TeraSPEED® Singlemode and LazrSPEED® OM4 and OM5 Wideband Multimode Fiber

In addition to featuring TeraSPEED singlemode and LazrSPEED OM4 multimode fiber, CommScope is the first to offer OM5 Wideband multimode, which opens the door to a number of emerging applications, such as short wavelength division multiplexing (SWDM).

Pioneered by CommScope, OM5 Wideband enables simultaneous transmission of four wavelengths on the same fiber. So you can quadruple your capacity and take advantage of low-power, low-cost VCSEL technology to dramatically increase the value of your multimode fiber infrastructure.

Calculating Loss Limits

Different fiber applications have different maximum insertion loss requirements. If the loss is too high it will prevent the signal from properly reaching the far end causing the link to fail. Designing link performance early in the design stage will make sure your cable plant will support the applications you will need to run. Loss budgets are calculated based on the length and type of fiber as well as the number and performance of connectors and splices. Getting this calculation right should be straightforward, however, contractors report that only about 30% of their technicians are proficient in doing so. Not surprisingly, over a quarter of contractors reported having fiber test results rejected for testing against incorrectly set fiber limits in the six months before they were surveyed (Fluke Networks research).

CommScope has developed a fiber performance calculator that accurately predicts end to end link performance and the application support that this performance delivers. This PC-based tool establishes loss targets for the high-performance links that define what ultra low-loss systems will deliver - far better performance than standards require. The user simply enters the type of link and then fills in the number and types of connectors and splices and the calculator provides the loss limits.

Link Loss Calculator

Figure 2. CommScope Link Loss Calculator for SYSTIMAX fiber installations.

Simplifying the Process

A key value in calculating the loss is the length of the fiber, which is entered in the calculator as shown in Figure 2. However, this seemingly simple step can create a lot of complexity. Every link with a different length would require calculating a unique set of limits, even if the links were identical in every other way (type of fiber, number of splices and connectors). Installers certifying in the field would need to carefully select the right test limit based on the length of the link being tested. This might mean a job with a single link configuration could require dozens of separate limits, increasing job complexity and expense, while greatly increasing the chance of mistakes.

Fluke Networks CertiFiber® Pro Optical Loss Test set can measure the length of the fiber when testing, offering a solution to the problem. With the CertiFiber Pro, the operator sets up a test by selecting a fiber type and then entering the numbers and types of connectors and splices into the tester (Figure 3). Then, each time a test is made, the tester automatically measures the length and feeds that to the built-in SYSTIMAX calculator to generate the exact loss limit for that link. This eliminates the need for multiple limits based on length. With less data to enter, this process is even simpler than the PC-based calculator, and further eliminates the chance of errors when transferring the limits from the PC to the tester.

Link Loss Calculator CertiFiber®

Figure 3. The CommScope SYSTIMAX Link Loss Calculator is built-in to the latest version of Fluke Networks CertiFiber Pro Optical Loss Test Set. CertiFiber Pros owners can add the calculator to their testers with a free download from the Fluke Networks website.

Even More Efficient with LinkWare Live

Fluke Networks LinkWare Live takes this concept to the next level by efficiently loading the entire project test plan complete with LL or ULL limits into the tester. This web-based service also features a built-in version of the SYSTIMAX loss calculator. Project Managers can set up the requirements for the project, including the SYSTIMAX limits, from their office on a PC or tablet. Technicians in the field can download the settings over Wi-Fi to one or more CertiFiber Pro units in the field, which is especially efficient for large projects as such as data centers. During testing, the CertiFiber Pro uses its length measurement result to calculate a precise limit for the link. Test results are uploaded over Wi-Fi to LinkWare Live, allowing the project manager to track overall progress or look at individual results.

LinkWare Live

Figure 4. With LinkWare Live, Project Managers can create and manage test settings and transfer them to testers. Techs can upload test results, allowing the Project Managers to track job progress.

Accurate Loss Testing

Once the correct limits are in the tester, CertiFiber Pro makes the testing fast and easy. CertiFiber Pro prevents the common problem of incorrect reference setting by leading the customer through the process. Then just push TEST to measure the loss of a pair of fibers at two wavelengths, compare it against the required limits and a display a PASS or FAIL – in just three seconds.

CommScope installers can be confident in the results generated by CertiFiber Pro, as it has been evaluated by CommScope engineers and found to demonstrate a high degree of correlation with their laboratory tests. As a result, CommScope accepts CertiFiber Pro test results for warranty purposes.

OM5 Testing

CertiFiber Pro supports multimode testing wavelengths of 850 and 1300 nm as specified in industry standards. However, OM5 is expected to operate with transceivers in the 850 to 950 nm ranges. Will OM5 require a new tester?

In a word, no. Telecommunications Industry Association experts found that if a proper launch condition is used, such as encircled flux, the difference in connection attenuation between different wavelengths will be “bound”. This means that a link passing at 850 and 1300 nm will also have acceptable loss at wavelengths in between. Other standards bodies have demonstrated that this assertion is true. Therefore, testing OM5 at the two wavelength extremes of 850 nm and 1300 nm, as provided by the CertiFiber Pro, provides adequate and prudent testing.

Fiber Types

Figure 5. CertiFiber Pro supports all SYSTIMAX High Speed Migration fiber types

Summary

Fluke Networks CertiFiber Pro OLTS automates the testing of SYSTIMAX LL and ULL fiber systems. This approach saves time, reduces errors and generates the most complete results used for SYSTIMAX Application Assurance certification.