ТЕХНИЧЕСКОЕ ОПИСАНИЕ

10 глупых вещей, которые делают умные люди при тестировании сетевых кабельных систем

Загрузить PDF

Обзор

Каждый, кто устанавливает, тестирует и сертифицирует сетевые кабельные системы, знает о важности соблюдения стандартов параметры производительности и поддержки приложений, но даже лучшие специалисты могут делать ошибки, которые негативно влияют на эффективность системы и степень удовлетворенности клиентов.

глупых вещей, которые делают умные люди при тестировании сетевых кабельных систем

Ниже приведен краткий список некоторых глупых вещей, которые делают умные люди при тестировании сетевых кабельных систем

2. Отсутствие согласования результатов тестирования в письменной форме.

Пограничные результаты тестирования предполагают, что вы близко к пределу, что многие клиенты посчитают неприемлемым. Проблема заключается в том, что в стандартах ANSI/TIA-1152 и IEC 61935-1 указано, что пограничные результаты являются просто результатами при положительном прохождении теста. Требования стандарта соблюдены. If you want to reject marginal results, you will need to specifically state that in your test specification. Read about #2 Dumb Thing neglecting marginal test results

3. Отсутствие списка всех параметров для проверки.

При сертификации медных кабелей в стандартах ANSI/TIA-1152 и ISO/IEC 11801:2011 указано, какие минимальные параметры должны быть протестированы в полевых условиях с предложением о том, что есть и другие параметры. К ним относятся сопротивление дисбаланса постоянного тока внутри пары и между парами для полной поддержки приложений PoE. Дополнительные параметры, такие как ELTCTL и TCL, также указываются, но применяются только в лабораторном тестировании. The latest field testers are capable of making these additional important measurements, but you will need to specify which parameters you want tested. Read about #3 Dumb Thing Fail to specify all test parameters

4. Несоблюдение требований к внешним перекрестным наводкам.

Поставщики кабельных систем, предлагающие гарантию, могут не требовать тестирования внешних перекрестных наводок. Эту операцию многие считают необязательной, хотя стандарты ANSI/TIA и ISO/IEC явно указывают на ее необходимость. Если в спецификации тестирования не сказано, что тестирование внешних перекрестных наводок не требуется, вас, установщика, могут попросить выполнить ее независимо от того, что скажет поставщик кабельной системы. Что делает ситуацию еще хуже, это пример теста. With no agreement in place, you could be looking at 100% testing of the installation for PS NEXT and PS AACR-F, at your cost. Read about #4 Dumb Thing “Wing it” on Alien Crosstalk compliance

5. Недоступность данных графиков.

Отчет о тестировании без данных графиков — этой пустой отчет. Хотя в стандартах ANSI/TIA-1152 или IEC 61935-1 ничего не сказано о том, что данные графиков необходимо записывать, только они позволяют определить, что вызывает проблему в тестируемом соединении. Кроме того, для тестирования внешних перекрестных наводок требуются данные графиков канальных тестов. Кроме того, если вам потребуется поддержка Fluke Networks и вы не предоставите данные графиков, нам придется попросить вас повторить тестирование с включенными данными графиков, что увеличит время тестирования вдвое. There is nothing in either ANSI/TIA-1152 or IEC 61935-1 that states plot data must be recorded. Read about #5 Forget to enable plot data

6. Тестирование многомодового волокна с помощью тестера, не соответствующего стандарту EF.

Если в спецификации теста указаны стандарты ANSI/TIA-568-C, ISO/IEC 11801 или ISO/IEC 14763-3, вы должны использовать EF-совместимое возбуждающее оптоволокно для тестирования многомодового волокна. Неопределенность измерений с EF-совместимым возбуждающим волокном значительно сокращаются, что предотвращает получение чересчур оптимистичных результатов, из-за которых клиенты в итоге могут остаться в недоумении из-за производительности своих систем. Some cabling vendors are requiring EF testing for warranties, while others will not provide onsite support without seeing EF compliant results first. Read about #6 Dumb Thing Using Non-EF Compliant Cable Tester

7. Выбор эталонной конфигурации с двумя шнурами для тестирования оптических потерь уровня 1.

Хотя эталонная конфигурация с двумя шнурами может казаться проще, применение двух эталонных тестовых шнуров может дать слишком оптимистичные результаты и отрицательные результаты потерь. Поэтому многие поставщики кабельных систем отвергают результаты тестов, проведенных с двумя эталонными шнурами, и не предоставляют гарантию. В стандартах ANSI/TIA и ISO/IEC рекомендуется использовать только один эталонный шнур. The test specification must call out the reference method, and only the 1-cord reference includes the loss of the connections at both ends of the link for the highest accuracy. Read about #7 Choose the two-cord reference for Tier 1 optical loss testing

8. Использование коммутационных шнуров для сертификации волоконно-оптических кабельных систем.

Коммутационные шнуры, как правило, имеют максимальный уровень потерь 0,5 дБ. Это может привести и приводит к несогласованным показателям и завалить тестирование идеальных соединений. В стандартах ANSI/TIA и ISO/IEC указано о необходимости использования эталонных коннекторов для тестовых шнуров: 0,1 дБ для многомодовых и 0,2 дБ для одномодовых. Such cords are often referred to as Test Reference Cords or TRCs. Read about #8 Dumb Thing Using BIMMF Test Cords and Common Mandrel

9. Использование дуплексного тестера для сертификации магистралей MPO.

Для тестирования 12-волоконных магистралей MPO с помощью дуплексного тестера требуется 15 шагов, а так как времени у полевых техников всегда мало, вероятность выполнения всех 15 шагов стремится к нулю. При использовании тестера с возможностями тестирования MPO, например Fluke MultiFiber™ Pro от компании Fluke Networks, требуется всего 5 шагов, при этом он группирует все 12 волокон MPO в одном отчете. Он также сертифицирует 8- и 10-волоконные соединения MPO для поддержки 40GBASE-SR4 и 100GBASE-СР10. Testing MPO trunks with a duplex tester can make it virtually impossible to stay on schedule. Read about #9 Rely on a duplex tester for certifying MPO trunks

10. Пропуск инспектирования оптоволокона.

Загрязненные соединения остаются главной причиной проблем, связанных с волокном, поэтому торцевую поверхность всегда нужно проверять перед подключением. К сожалению, субъективное инспектирование дает несогласованные результаты. Если у вас есть оборудование для инспектирования, используйте его. И рассмотрите возможность использования критериев чистоты стандарта IEC 61300-3-35 во избежание споров. The latest generation of field testers can automatically grade an end face in around 1 second. Read about #10 Skip out on proper fiber inspection

White Paper: 10 dumb things smart people do when testing network cabling systems | www.flukenetworks.com

White Paper: 10 dumb things smart people do when testing network cabling systems

While anyone who installs, tests and certifies a network cabling plant knows the importance of meeting standards performance parameters and ensuring application support, even the best of us can make mistakes that can adversely impact the bottom line and customer satisfaction.

    TABLE OF CONTENTS

  1. Fail to specify the type of link testing you want.
  2. Neglect to agree upon marginal test results upfront in writing.
  3. Fail to specify all test parameters to be tested.
  4. “Wing it” on Alien Crosstalk compliance.
  5. Forget to enable plot data.
  6. Go with a non-EF compliant tester for testing multimode fiber.
  7. Choose the two-cord reference for Tier 1 optical loss testing.
  8. Use patch cords to certify a fiber cabling system.
  9. Rely on a duplex tester for certifying MPO trunks.
  10. Skip out on proper fiber inspection.
TEN

dumb things smart people do when testing network cabling systems

The following is a quick list of some dumb things smart people do when testing network cabling systems

DO NOT:

1st Thing

Fail to specify the type of link testing you want.

The channel link is the complete link over which active equipment communicates and therefore includes equipment/user patch cords at both ends. While the network ultimately relies on the performance of the channel, channel testing has less stringent limits and can allow problems with the fixed portion of the network to go undetected. Permanent link testing assures that a passing link can reliably be configured into a passing channel by adding certified patch cords and is required for a warranty application. Read more.

2nd Thing

Neglect to agree upon marginal test results upfront in writing.

A marginal pass suggests you are close to the limit, something which many customers will question and possibly reject. The problem is that ANSI/TIA-1152 and IEC 61935-1 state that a marginal pass simply results in an overall pass condition. It has met the requirements of the standard. If you want to reject marginal results, you will need to specifically state that in your test specification. Read more.

3rd Thing

Fail to specify all test parameters to be tested.

When it comes to copper certification, ANSI/TIA-1152 and ISO/IEC 11801:2011 specify which parameters should be tested as a minimum in field testing, suggesting there are other parameters – which there are. These include DC resistance unbalance within a pair and between pairs for fully supporting PoE applications. Additional parameters such as TCL and ELTCTL are also specified, but are relegated to laboratory testing only. The latest field testers are capable of making these additional important measurements, but you will need to specify which parameters you want tested. Read more.

4th Thing

“Wing it” on Alien Crosstalk compliance

The cabling vendor offering the warranty may not require alien crosstalk testing. Often considered optional by many, it’s not optional in either ANSI/TIA or ISO/IEC standards. Unless the test specification states no alien crosstalk testing required, you, the installer could be asked to do it by the end user, regardless of what the cabling vendor may say. Making the situation worse, this is a sample test. With no agreement in place, you could be looking at 100% testing of the installation for PS NEXT and PS AACR-F, at your cost. Read more.

5th Thing

Forget to enable plot data.

A test report without plot data is an empty test report. While there is nothing in either ANSI/TIA-1152 or IEC 61935-1 that states plot data must be recorded, plot data is the only way to really tell what might be causing an issue with your link under test. And besides, alien crosstalk testing requires plot data from in-channel tests. Furthermore, if you need Fluke Networks’ troubleshooting support and you don’t provide plot data, we will need it to help you, forcing you to retest with it enabled and more than doubling your test time. There is nothing in either ANSI/TIA-1152 or IEC 61935-1 that states plot data must be recorded. Read more.

6th Thing

Go with a non-EF compliant tester for testing multimode fiber.

If your specification states ANSI/TIA-568-C, ISO/IEC 11801 or ISO/IEC 14763-3, you’re required to use an encircled flux (EF) compliant launch for multimode fiber testing. Measurement uncertainty with EF-compliant launch conditions are significantly reduced, which can save you from over-optimistic results that can leave your customers wondering why their application is not performing. Some cabling vendors are requiring EF testing for warranties, while others will not provide onsite support without seeing EF compliant results first. Read more.

7th Thing

Choose the two-cord reference for Tier 1 optical loss testing.

While a 2-cord reference may seem easier, referencing both testcords results in optimistic results and may provide negative loss results. For this reason, many cabling vendors reject results carried out with the 2-cord reference, which could prevent you from acquiring a warranty. ANSI/TIA and ISO/IEC only recommend a 1-cord reference. The test specification must call out the reference method, and only the 1-cord reference includes the loss of the connections at both ends of the link for the highest accuracy. Read more.

8th Thing

Use patch cords to certify a fiber cabling system.

Fiber patch cords typically have a maximum mated loss of 0.5 dB. That can and does result in inconsistent readings, possibly failing perfectly good links. ANSI/TIA and ISO/IEC specify the use of reference grade connectors for test cords, 0.1 dB for multimode and 0.2 dB for singlemode. Such cords are often referred to as Test Reference Cords or TRCs. Read more.

9th Thing

Rely on a duplex tester for certifying MPO trunks.

Testing 12-fiber MPO fiber trunks with a duplex tester requires 15 steps in the setup process, and with the time pressure put on technicians in the field, the chance that they will follow all 15 steps is slim to none. A tester with MPO testing capabilities, such as the Fluke Networks’ MultiFiber™ Pro, requires just 5 setup steps and groups all 12 fibers of the MPO onto one test report. It also certifies 8 and 10 fiber count MPO links for the support of 40GBASE-SR4 and 100GBASE-SR10. Testing MPO trunks with a duplex tester can make it virtually impossible to stay on schedule. Read more.

10th Thing

Skip out on proper fiber inspection.

Contaminated connections remain the number one cause of fiber related problems, which is why fiber end faces should always be inspected before connecting. Unfortunately, relying on subjective human inspection produces inconsistent results. If you have inspection equipment, use it. And consider using the IEC 61300-3-35 standard’s cleanliness grading criteria to avoid disputes. The latest generation of field testers can automatically grade an end face in around 1 second. Read more.