案例分析:Integrity Networks 阿拉斯加分部

完整网络

产品概览:

客户:

Integrity Networks 阿拉斯加分部

行业:

技术公司

地点:

美国

www.integritynetworksinc.com

阿拉斯加丛林中的终极测试
生存技巧:注意有熊出没的地方

公司背景

Integrity Networks 为全国和环太平洋地区的公司和联邦、州和地方政府提供通信服务和线缆及光纤网络基础设施的安装。总部位于华盛顿州伦顿,项目范围包括关岛和新加坡的军事基地、华盛顿和弗吉尼亚的数据中心和 VOIP 安装,以及阿拉斯加的主要医疗保健和企业石油、天然气和采矿项目。

Integrity Networks 于 2007 年进入阿拉斯加市场,并且一直在低压承包方面占有稳定的市场份额。Integrity Networks 总部位于安克雷奇,有大量技艺精湛的阿拉斯加员工在美国一线工作。

在阿拉斯加北坡工作的风险

在阿拉斯加北坡工作需要对环境有基本的了解;在这方面阿拉斯加人比其他任何人更了解。需要了解的第一件事是北坡位于丛林中,这是阿拉斯加尚未开发的一部分,野生动物可能会越过项目的边界。驼鹿喜欢四处闲逛。棕熊和北极熊位于食物链顶端,这些都是人类-野生动物“冲突”表中居前的动物。另外还有喜欢咬人的昆虫,数量非常多,非常讨厌。虽然它们不足以致命,您还是可能会诅咒它们快点死掉。

天气是阿拉斯加工人需要考虑的另一个环境因素。在这里,一年几乎有九个月是冬天。严寒、大雪和暴风雪 – 各种灾害随着 Integrity Network 北坡项目的开始而出现。

“在工作中来往于各个建筑之间也是有危险的。虽然这样的事情尚未发生过,但这是冬天,您在北坡到处奔走执行项目,在您的脑海中必须铭记,路上可能会遇到一只北极熊,”Integrity Networks 阿拉斯加地区经理 Randy Sherman 说。

挑战:双向测试 1400 光纤链路

北坡一家能源公司的一项大任务需要 Integrity Networks 技师对 1,400 多条光纤链路进行双向测试。冬季气候增加了任务的复杂性。

双向测试需要从光纤的两端对光纤链路进行测试。对于大部分安装人员和承包商来说,这意味着要走到每条待测链路的另一端。而快捷方法,例如从一端测试所有链路,然后再测试另一端,可能导致结果不准确并且不符合标准。在大部分任务中,每次测试都走个来回会增加测试时间的不可接受性。对于这项特殊任务,仅想想要去间隔几百码之外的建筑测试另一端就令人怯步。

“作为阿拉斯加人,我们对天气和野生动物非常尊重,” Sherman 说,“在冬季,如果你被困在外面太长时间,后果会不堪设想。”

SmartLoop 的优势 – 首个任务节省的花费足够支付测试仪的成本

借助带 SmartLoop™ 的 OptiFiber® Pro,Integrity Networks 技术人员几乎以类似任务一半的时间就能完成测试。因为在工作中技师不止一次需要将 OTDR 带到另一端对链路进行双向测试,所以这缩短了在野外停留的时间,减少了与野生动物发生冲突的几率。

SmartLoop 算法为各事件计算平均双向损耗,然后用一个简单的通过或失败表示各条光纤。不再需要将 OTDR 带到另一端,也不需要计算。测试完成后可以立即上传双向报告并在现场与客户分享。这样可以即时在现场发现问题,从而立即纠正,节省更多时间。

“真正使用后,我们的团队很快便掌握了 OptiFiber Pro 的操作方法,”Sherman 说道,“在这一项任务上第一次使用 SmartLoop – 节省的花费便轻松抵消了测试仪的成本。”

SmartLoop 是 Fluke Networks OptiFiber Pro OTDR 的标配,后者是业界领先的布线认证系统 Versiv™ 的系列产品之一。当前客户可以免费下载 SmartLoop。欢迎访问 Fluke Networks 网站了解更多信息。

 
 
Powered By OneLink

Case Study: Integrity Networks Alaska Branch | www.flukenetworks.com

Case Study: Integrity Networks Alaska Branch

Integrity Networks

At a Glance:

Customer:

Integrity Networks Alaska Branch

Industry:

Technology Company

Location:

United States

www.integritynetworksinc.com

The Ultimate Test in the Alaskan Bush
Survival Tip: Take care where the bears roam

Company Background

Integrity Networks provides communications services and cable and fiber network infrastructure installation for companies and federal, state and local governments nationwide and around the Pacific Rim. Based in Renton, Washington, their projects range from military bases in Guam and Singapore, data center and VOIP installations in Washington and Virginia, to major healthcare and corporate oil, gas and mining projects across Alaska.

Integrity Networks entered the Alaskan market in 2007, and it has remained a steady presence in low-voltage contracting there ever since. With branch headquarters in Anchorage, Integrity Networks has an extensive staff of highly skilled Alaskan employees that work on jobs in the last great American frontier.

The Risks of Working on the North Slope of Alaska

Working on Alaska’s North Slope requires a fundamental understanding about the environment; something Alaskans understand like no one else. The first thing to understand is that the North Slope is in the bush, the untamed part of Alaska where wildlife don’t respect project boundaries. Moose wander wherever they choose. Brown bears and polar bears top the food chain, and all are high on the human-wildlife “conflict” scale. Then there are the biting insects, which are plentiful and notorious. While they may not kill you - you may wish you were dead.

The weather is another environmental consideration for workers in Alaska. During nine months of the year, it’s basically winter in this part of the state. Freezing cold, snow, and blizzards – a variety of hazards that start piling up as many Integrity Network projects get underway on the North Slope.

“Walking between buildings on a job can be dangerous. While it hasn’t happened, when it’s winter and you’re walking around a project on the North Slope, in the back of your mind you know that there could be a polar bear in your path,” said Randy Sherman, Alaska Area Manager for Integrity Networks.

The Challenge: Testing 1400 Fiber Links Bi-Directionally

One significant job for an energy company on the North Slope required Integrity Networks technicians to test more than 1,400 fiber links bi-directionally. The task was further complicated by the winter weather.

Bi-directional testing requires testing the fiber links from both ends of the fiber. For most installers and contractors, this means walking to the other end for each link to be tested. Shortcuts, such as testing all the links from one end and then the other yields inaccurate results that aren’t standards compliant. In most jobs, walking back and forth for each test would increase the testing time unacceptably. For this particular job, given the cold temperatures, it was daunting just to think about gearing up to go between buildings that were several hundred yards apart to get to the far end.

“As Alaskans, we have a healthy respect for the weather and the wildlife,” Sherman shared. “In the middle of winter if you get caught outside long enough, it could be disastrous.”

Benefits of SmartLoop – Time Savings Easily Paid for Cost of Tester on First job

Thanks to OptiFiber® Pro with SmartLoop™, the Integrity Networks technicians were able to do the testing in nearly half the time it took on similar jobs. Not once during the job did a technician have to risk walking the OTDR to the far end to test the links bi-directionally, minimizing the amount of exposure to the elements and reducing potential conflicts with wildlife.

The SmartLoop algorithm calculates the average bi-directional loss for each event and displays each fiber with a simple pass or fail indication. There is no requirement to haul the OTDR to the far end, and there are no calculations required. Bi-directional reporting can be uploaded and shared instantly on-site with customers when testing is completed. Problems are therefore identified instantly and on-site so they can be remedied promptly, saving even more.

“Once we got it, our team was able to master the OptiFiber Pro operation quickly,” said Sherman. “By using SmartLoop for the first time on this one job – the savings easily paid for the cost of the tester."

SmartLoop comes standard on Fluke Networks OptiFiber Pro OTDR, part of the Versiv™ line, the industry’s leading Cabling Certification System. SmartLoop is available as a free download for current customers. Just visit the Fluke Networks website to learn more.