白皮书:如何提高线缆安装的利润?节省时间。

俗话说,“时间就是金钱”,这同样适用于线缆安装。过去 25 年来,测试和认证工具和技术方面的进步让企业线缆安装产业受到很大益处—链路认证时间缩短到只有几秒钟,为安装商节省了测试和认证成本。但是,任何安装过程中都会有其他步骤耗费宝贵的时间,产生额外的成本。线缆测试方法的新突破帮助承包商将测试和报告问题的时间减少 50% 以上,从而使整体利润提高 10%。

    目录

  • 影响生产力的问题
  • 熟练工人的短缺需要新的线缆测试方法
  • 减少问题和成本的完整方式
  • 设计以工作为中心的测试仪
  • 设计可避免错误的测试仪
  • 设计可更快地解决问题的测试仪
  • 新的管理方式
  • 设置测试仪
  • 跟踪进展
  • 整理结果
  • 底线
利润率

影响生产力的问题

为了发现使测试和认证更有效率的方式,Fluke Networks 向线缆安装商们询问了他们在各种测试相关功能上花费的时间。调查发现了多项惊人的结果。一个重要体会:测试中的问题和低效率对利润有严重的负面影响。例如,平均一次 1,000 链路任务中:

  • 4.3 小时会浪费在因限制有误而需要重新测试的线缆上
  • 3.2 小时浪费在手动编辑不符合规格的线缆 ID 上
  • 3.1 小时浪费在整理保存在多个测试仪上的结果上
  • 2.9 小时浪费在技术主管设置测试仪上

总之,这些类型的问题在一个典型的 1,000 链路任务中会浪费安装商超过 40 小时的时间。

这意味着,如果纠正并在将来避免这些问题,产生的额外利润意味着线缆安装商可获得更高的收入,或者如果他们要把节省送给潜在客户,可获得更多竞标。

在另一份调查中,美国安装商报告他们的时间有 63 % 实际上用在了安装线缆上。安装完成后,14% 的典型项目时间涉及与测试相关的任务,百分之六用在了报告上,百分之八用在了返工上,百分之九用在了意外事件和其他活动上。任务的非安装部分:测试、报告、返工和故障诊断 – 都是可以通过功能广泛的测试系统削减成本的地方。

避免不熟练工人导致的测试错误、避免不熟练工人等待熟练工人帮助造成的延迟、减少计划和安装中的错误、减少故障诊断时间、减少重复测试的需求、避免不必要的差旅时间、以及简化低效率的报告过程都是公司声称可以降低成本和提高利润的举措。

熟练工人的短缺需要新的线缆测试方法

在现场,安装商会使用各种方式减少错误。方法之一就是雇佣更加熟练的工人,但能理解线缆和光纤测试细微差异的工人是稀有的。Fluke 调查的所有者中,78% 的人报告称很难找到优秀的员工。

对不熟练的员工提供更多培训当然有用 – Fluke Networks 通过我们的 认证线缆测试技师 (CCTT) 项目培训了 10,000 多名技师。但培训也很昂贵,因为课程需要学费并需要一定的离岗时间。任何不必要的差旅都会增加成本。定期的流动也是另一个高成本因素。这个产业的工作驱动性质让临时工形成了稳定的流入和流出。这意味着培训一名工人后,他下个月就会为你的竞争对手工作。

就算是经验丰富的产品经理也无法避免所有错误。虽然确实有超过 80% 的安装商报告项目经理保证一切正常,但如今线缆安装业务的性质使得这个越来越难保证。大部分的项目经理要同时执行多项作业,甚至一项作业都可能使他们忙得不可开交,并且还要等待建筑团队完成这个作业的其他部分。70% 的安装商报告称,他们每个月至少要有一次将测试仪从一项作业移动到另一项作业,以及搬到现场再将其搬回来。这种工作负担过重的经理几乎无法保证每项工作中的每一台测试仪都能得到正确的设置和使用。出于所有这些原因,为了提高利润,更好的方式是设计一个错误空间较小的测试系统,从而提高整体工作效率。这种错误是广泛存在的 - 在对全世界超过 800 个安装商进行的调查中,几乎半数的安装商报告称由于之前测试使用了错误的限值,因此必须重新测试链路。37% 还报告光纤中出现“负损耗”情况,就像在 100 米冲刺比赛中将时间记为负数的情况- 是明显错误的!

减少问题和成本的完整方式

Fluke Networks 采取了双层方法避免这些问题并提高承包商效率。第一个是设计可以提高技师效率的测试仪。第二个是设计可以为项目经理提供前所未有的线缆项目认证管理方式的系统。

设计以工作为中心的测试仪

管理有多个团队参与、使用多个测试仪和具有多种要求的多项工作不但费时,而且容易出错。越来越庞大的作业规模使得项目组织比以往更加重要。用户不再设置单独的测试,而是制定有全部任务详情的完整项目文件。这样更换项目时不再重新输入工作详情,可以避免设置错误。一个项目文件可以与多个测试仪共享,进一步加速设置并减少出错的机会。

设计可避免错误的测试仪

在测试仪中整合更多自动化以避免诸多常见的设置问题。例如,因设置参考电平不当而产生的负光纤损耗读数 – 这是一个相对复杂的过程。这个过程中的错误会使后续所有读数错误,使工作必须全部“重做”。为解决这个问题,测试仪本身即可引导操作员按步完成这个过程并检查每一步是否正确完成。下面的 Fluke Networks 设备屏幕序列显示了该程序的一些步骤。当完成每个步骤后,用户点击“下一步”,测试仪在确认该步骤已完成后会显示下一个步骤。

Fluke Networks 设备屏幕

设计可更快地解决问题的测试仪

根据 Fluke Networks 客户的反映,线缆认证过程中另一个耗费了大量非必要时间的步骤就是出现问题时的故障诊断。根据一份美国调查中超过 300 家承包商的反映,每项任务都会有超过 8.4 个小时浪费在等待技师主管诊断问题上。我们和我们的技术支持团队合作(有 162 年的线缆测试经验)将他们的经验融入仪器中。结果就是 FAULT INFO 功能,它可为即使是最复杂的线缆问题提供简单的分析,让所有技师都变成专家 – 而且一键即可完成。

故障信息功能屏幕

详细的故障信息将团队中的所有人变成故障排除专家。

新的管理方式

项目经理或技师主管不能在每个工作每次测试都到现场监督。所以 Fluke Networks 开发了 LinkWare Live™,它是一种云服务,可让任何人在任何设备上管理认证任务。结果就是对项目有更透彻的了解,并减少会影响利润的错误。

设置测试仪

如上面所述,测试仪设置不当会产生高昂的成本。有了 LinkWare Live,项目经理可以在办公室使用任意有网络浏览器的设备设置从线缆 ID 到光纤损耗限制的所有项目参数。现场技师通过 Wi-Fi 将测试仪连接到云服务,然后下载项目设置,避免出错的机会。

跟踪进展

团队完成测试后,他们可在工作现场将结果直接上传到 LinkWare Live。这样便不再需要驾车将测试仪送回办公室,项目经理可以随时使用计算机、手机或平板跟踪项目进展。更重要的是,LinkWare Live 可自动标记所有意外测试。这样项目经理可以更早地发现问题,避免完成更多错误测试。LinkWare Live 甚至可以在地图上显示测试仪位置,帮助跟踪这些昂贵的资产。

LinkWare Live 跟踪测试任务状态

LinkWare Live 可跟踪测试任务的状态,发出意外测试警告,甚至显示测试仪的最后使用位置。

整理结果

如果在多个任务中使用多个测试仪,跟踪测试仪并整理结果通常需要三个小时以上。但有了 LinkWare Live,测试结果可上传到正确的任务,所以制作报告也就是一瞬间的事情。不再需要寻找测试仪,不再需要驾车将它们送回办公室下载结果。

底线

Fluke Networks 采访了基本上全部使用 Versiv 系统的公司、部署了部分 Versiv 设备的公司和完全没有 Versiv 产品的公司。我们对比了 Versiv 线缆测试系统用户的效率和使用混合设备且没有 Versiv 系统的机构的效率。从整体上,Versiv 用户在测试和报告问题上花费的时间要少 66%。结果显示测试和报告上花费的总时间从 15% 降低到 8% 到 5%,整体利润增加 7% 和 10%,而相应 Versiv 渗透率从 0% 提高到 50% 到 100%。节省时间就是节省金钱,这对利润来说无疑是个好消息。

Versiv Saves You Money

 
 
Powered By OneLink

White Paper: How to increase profit and Save time in cable installations?

White Paper: How to increase profits in cable installations? Save time.

The old adage, “Time is Money,” applies in a big way to cable testing. Over the last 25 years, advances in testing and certification tools and technologies have benefitted the enterprise cabling installation industry significantly—link certification times have been reduced to just a few seconds, shaving testing and certification costs for installers. Still, there are additional steps in any installation that consume valuable time, producing added costs. New breakthroughs in cable testing approaches help contractors reduce time dealing with testing and reporting issues by more than 50%, adding up to 10% to overall profit margins.

    TABLE OF CONTENTS

  • Issues that Affect Productivity
  • Shortage of Skilled Workers Requires New Methods for Cable Testing
  • A Complete Approach to Reducing Problems and Costs
  • Designing a Tester Around the Job
  • Designing a Tester to Prevent Mistakes
  • Designing a Tester to Solve Problems Faster
  • New Approaches to Management
  • Setting up the Tester
  • Tracking Progress
  • Consolidating Results
  • The Bottom Line

Issues that affect productivity

To explore ways to make testing and certification more efficient, Fluke Networks asked cable installers about their time spent performing various test-related functions. The surveys yielded some surprising results. One big take-away: problems and inefficiencies during the testing process had a significant negative impact on profit margins. For example, on an average 1,000 link job:

  • 4.3 hours are wasted on cables tested with wrong limits that have to be retested
  • 3.2 hours are blown manually editing cable ID's that don’t match specs
  • 3.1 hours are lost consolidating results stored in multiple testers
  • 2.9 hours are spent waiting for lead techs to set up the tester

In total, these sorts of problems cost installers over 40 hours on a typical 1,000 link job.

This all suggests that, if these problems are rectified and then avoided in the future, the resulting additional profits would mean more revenues for cable installers, or if they choose to pass along their savings to prospective customers, more competitive bids.

In another survey, US installers reported that they spent 63% of their time actually installing cable. After completing the installation, 14% of typical project times involved testing-related tasks, six percent went to reporting, eight percent to re-work, and nine percent to contingencies and other activities. The non-installation parts of the job: testing, reporting, re-working and troubleshooting represent fertile ground for cutting costs through the deployment of testing systems with expanded capabilities.

Eliminating testing mistakes caused by inexperienced workers, avoiding delays caused when less experienced installers are idle and waiting for help from more experienced staff, reducing errors during planning and setup, condensing time on troubleshooting, reducing the need for retesting, ending unnecessary job travel time, and streamlining inefficient reporting processes were all cited by companies as actions that can reduce costs and increase profits.

Shortage of skilled workers requires new methods for cable testing

In the field, installers utilize a number of approaches to minimize mistakes. One such method is hiring more skilled employees, but workers with quality understanding of the nuances of cable and fiber testing are rare. 78% of Fluke-surveyed owners report that finding good workers is a challenge.

More training for inexperienced employees can certainly help – Fluke Networks has trained over 10,000 technicians in our Certified Cabling Test Technician (CCTT) program. But training is also expensive, with classes requiring a tuition charge and time away from jobsites. Any necessary travel only adds more cost. Regular turnover is another prohibitive factor. The job-driven nature of the industry creates a steady inflow and outflow of temporary workers. This can mean investing in a worker who could be working for your competitor next month.

And even highly-experienced product managers can't prevent all problems. While it’s true that more than 80% of installer owners report that project managers ensure things are done right, the nature of today’s cable installation business makes this increasingly tough to do. Most project managers work on multiple jobs simultaneously, and single jobs require installers to move from floor to floor and wait for construction teams to finish other parts of the job. 70% of installers report moving a tester back and forth from one job to another at least monthly. It’s unlikely that such overworked managers can ensure that every tester on every job is always set up and used properly. For all of these reasons, a better approach to a better bottom line is to design testing systems that leave less room for error and thus increase overall job efficiency. Examples of such errors are widespread - almost half of the more than 800 surveyed installers worldwide reported having to retest links because they were tested to the wrong limits. 37% percent also reported dealing with negative loss fiber measurements, which is like recording a negative time in a 100-meter dash – something obviously is incorrect!

A Complete Approach to Reducing Problems and Costs

Fluke Networks has adopted a two-tiered approach to eliminating these problems and improving contractor productivity. The first is to design testers in a way to make the technicians more efficient. The second is to design a system that allows project managers to, well, manage cabling project certification like never before.

Designing a Tester Around the Job

Managing the testing of multiple jobs with multiple teams, testers, and requirements is time consuming and a source of errors. Increasingly larger jobs make project organization more important than ever. Instead of setting up individual tests, users create complete project files with all job specific details. This eliminates the need to re-enter job specific details when changing a project, eliminating set-up errors. A single project file can be shared among multiple testers, further speeding set up and reducing the chance of errors.

Designing a Tester to Prevent Mistakes

Building more automation into the tester can prevent a lot of common set-up problems. For example, negative fiber loss readings result from improperly setting reference levels – a relatively complex process. Mistakes in this process can make every subsequent reading incorrect, resulting in an entire “re-do” of the job. To solve this problem, the tester itself can lead the operator step-by-step through the process and check that each has been done correctly. The sequence of Fluke Networks device screens below shows some of the steps in the process. As each is completed, the user taps “NEXT”, the tester verifies that the step was completed, and then presents the next step.

Designing a Tester to Solve Problems Faster

According to Fluke Networks customers, another step in the cable certification process that requires more time than necessary is troubleshooting problems. According to more than 300 contractors in a US survey, 8.4 hours on each job are wasted waiting for a lead technician to troubleshoot. We worked with our technical support team (with combined experience of 162 years in cable testing) to put their knowledge into the instrument. The result is the FAULT INFO feature, which turns every tech into an expert by providing simple analysis of even the most confusing cabling problems – with a single touch.

Detailed fault information turns everyone on the team into expert troubleshooters.

New Approaches to Management

The project manager or lead technician can’t be there to supervise every test on every job. That's why Fluke Networks developed LinkWare Live™, a cloud based service that allows management of certification jobs anywhere with anyone on any device. The result is better visibility into projects, and fewer profit-cutting mistakes.

Setting up the Tester

As noted before, improper setup of testers can be costly. With LinkWare Live, project managers can set up all the parameters of a project from cable ID’s to fiber loss limits from their office on any device with a web browser. Technicians in the field connect their testers via Wi-Fi to the cloud service and then download project settings, eliminating the opportunity for mistakes.

Tracking Progress

As teams complete their testing, they upload results to LinkWare Live directly from the jobsite. This eliminates time spent driving testers back to the office, and the project manager can track the progress of his teams wherever she is from her PC, phone, or tablet. More importantly, LinkWare Live automatically flags any unexpected tests. This allows the project manager to find problems early in the process before too many incorrect tests have been completed. LinkWare Live can even show where the testers are on a map, helping track these expensive assets.

LinkWare Live can track the status of testing jobs, warn of unexpected tests, and even show the last-used location of testers.

Consolidating Results

With multiple testers on multiple jobs, it’s no surprise that tracking down testers and consolidating results takes over three hours on a typical job. But with LinkWare Live, test results are uploaded to the correct job, so creating a report is a snap. No hunting for testers, and no driving them back to the office to download results.

The Bottom Line

Fluke Networks interviewed companies that used mostly Versiv systems, companies that deployed some percentage of Versiv devices, and those that had no Versiv products. We then compared the efficiency of Versiv cable testing system users against shops with a mixture of devices and no Versiv systems. Overall, Versiv owners spend up to 66% less time on testing and reporting issues. The findings show that total time spent on testing and reporting goes down from 15% to 8% to 5%, adding 7% and 10% to overall profit margins as Versiv penetration increases from 0% to 50% to 100%. Saving time saves money, and that's good news for everyone's bottom line.