线路
 

Truth Series 第 1 部分 »

第 1 部分:
有哪些东西是出厂电缆测试无法告诉安装人员的

为了实现数据中心的高性能网络和新拓扑结构,必须使用预先端接光纤,因此,谨记光纤基本原理就能解决业务、技术和性能问题。

简介
与现场端接光纤布线相比,出厂端接和测试光纤具备更好的光学性能和较低的安装费用。出厂端接光纤布线的精度和一致性极大改善了连接器的损耗和反射属性。虽然安装过程会使电缆承受压力并受到损害,但一旦交付给最终用户,这便超出了任何出厂测试的范围。安装人员和网络用户只需采取几个简单的步骤,便可避免性能问题,并确保认可制造商的保修责任。


问题和解决方案
预先端接光纤是适用于数据中心光纤网络的真正加速器。与传统光纤相比,它能更快速地安装和更改,配合 OM3/OM4 光纤,它还可以支持更快的数据传输速率。综合了各种连接器的功能,预先端接光纤组件是企业存储区域网络(SAN)和数据中心网络的有效解决方案。

装运前,大多数制造商会在预先端接光纤电缆组件上执行测试方案。这些测试是为了确保电缆/连接器组件的性能。如果正确地应用,出厂测试能让客户确信产品符合他们的损耗限制规范,而且当产品离开货运码头时,多光纤阵列中的所有光纤均能发挥作用。

但是,合格的出厂电缆和能将数字信息有效传送到交换机的电缆有一定的差距。专业的电缆安装人员和企业网络技术人员根据以前的经验知道,由于有实际因素的影响,“出厂时工作正常”的电缆,也可能在实际传输中发生问题。认识到这一点、了解了披露信息,您就可以明确保修责任的范围了。此外,了解如何降低固有风险有助于您避免不必要的网络停机和/或昂贵的召回费用以及较差的网络性能。

安装预先端接的光纤时,需要考虑的第一个实际因素是安装过程会为电缆和连接器带来风险。更具体地说,从机架或托盘中拉动电缆会损坏光纤。是的,在设计时的确就考虑到了光纤需要承受拉力。同时,使用光纤夹持工具拉动电缆可降低电缆受力点上的压力。尽管如此,光纤所能承受的最大拉力可低至 100 磅,普通安装人员仍极有可能超出该限值拉伸光纤,并在预先端接的干线上拉断一个或多个光纤。当光纤被拉转过一个角或障碍物时,常常发生此类情况。如果发生这种情况,经出厂测试的预先端接光纤在安装后根据技术指标将无法正常使用,且制造商的保修可能变得毫无价值。

事实上,如果仅仅因为制造商提供了保修,安装人员或网络用户就认为预先端接的电缆在安装后会符合规范,那么制造商的保证则创建了一个虚假的安全感。请务必阅读附属细则 - 它可能规定安装后损耗测试的证明文档是创建有效保修必不可少的。

安装预先端接光纤的第二个实际因素是,安装过程中电缆微弯和宏弯会造成电缆危险。虽然不会立即发生灾难性故障,但是过度弯曲会造成损耗,从而影响性能。即便厂商推出了具备更大的“弯曲性”的电缆,它们也有最小弯曲半径。

过度弯曲光纤造成的损耗事件可能比折断更难以发觉,特别是在多光纤主干中。一系列的诊断工具可以用来验证是否存在问题,如果确实存在则找到问题所在。

相对预先端接光纤来说,要考虑的第三个实际因素是连接器极有可能被弄脏或损坏。在安装过程中弄脏光纤端面是很常见的。如果没有其它,防尘罩可能将污染传给光纤。虽然不常见,但这取决于安装人员的细心程度,有时在典型的安装过程中,掉落,放置、用脏布擦拭等行为都会导致光纤的端面刮伤。

总结
传统光纤的最佳做法仍然适用于端接光纤:
(1) 经常清洁连接器
(2) 测试光纤以了解正确的极性
(3) 测试光纤以对比实际损耗和预计损耗
(4) 安装光纤时,按顺序测试其链路
(5) 检查并清洁所有的光纤

如果采取这些步骤,至少您将验证厂家保修,并在极大程度上确保您的新的预先端接光纤基础设施的完整性。

下载 PDF»


 

 
 
Powered By OneLink

Truth Part 1 of 8 - Setting the Standard for Fiber Network Testing


line
 

Truth Series Part 1 »

Part 1:
What Factory Cable Testing Cannot Tell an Installer

As the use of pre-terminated fiber becomes essential for high performance networks and new topologies in the datacenter, keeping the basic fiber fundamentals in mind will alleviate business, technology and performance issues.

Introduction
Related to field terminated fiber cabling, factory terminated and tested fiber has better optical performance and fewer installation costs. The precision and consistency of factory terminated fiber cabling greatly improves the loss and reflection attributes of the connectors. Once delivered to the end-user, though, the installation process exposes the cable to stress and potential damage that is beyond the scope of any factory test. If installers and network owners take a few simple steps, they can avoid performance problems and ensure that the manufacturer's warranties are upheld.


Problem and Solution
Pre-terminated fiber is a true accelerator for datacenter fiber networking. Compared to conventional fiber it is faster to install, faster to change and when coupled with OM3/OM4 fiber it can support faster data rates. Combined with a variety of connector options, pre-terminated fiber assemblies are an attractive solution for enterprise storage area network (SAN) and datacenter networks.

Most manufacturers perform a regimen of tests on pre-terminated fiber cable assemblies before shipment. These tests are meant to ensure the performance of cable/connector assemblies. When applied properly, factory testing provides customers some peace of mind that the products met their loss-limit specifications and all fibers in a multifiber array were functional when the product left the shipping dock.

There is a gap, however, between a cable exiting a factory and a cable reliably delivering bits to a destination switch port. Professional cable installers and enterprise network technicians have learned through experience that real-world factors will intercede to turn a cable assembly that "Worked when we shipped it to you" into a weak link in the transmission chain. Knowing this and recognizing the exposure should give you pause before taking a warranty for granted. Moreover, understanding how to mitigate the inherent risks helps you avoid unnecessary network downtime and/or expensive callbacksand slower network performance.

The first real world factor to consider in installing preterminated fiber is that the installation process introduces a risk to the cable and its connectors. More specifically, pulling cable through a rack or down a tray can break a fiber in the cable. Yes, it is true that fiber is designed to be pulled. It is also true that fiber gripping tools reduce the stress-points on cable when it is being pulled. Nonetheless, when the maximum pulling force on a fiber can be as little as 100 pounds it is quite possible for an average installer to exceed that maximum and shear one or more fibers in a preterminated trunk. This most often occurs when fiber is pulled around a corner or around an obstacle. If this occurs, a factory tested preterminated fiber will fail to function per specifications after installation and the manufacturer's warranty may be rendered worthless.

In fact, a manufacturer's warranty can create a false sense of security if an installer or network owner assumes that a pre-terminated cable will meet specification after installation simply because the manufacturer offers a warranty. Be sure to read the fine print - it may stipulate that documentation proof of a post-installation loss test is mandatory to create a valid warranty.

The second real world factor about installing pre-terminated fiber is that the installation process creates a risk to the cable through microbending and macrobending. While this is not an immediate catastrophic failure, excessive bending introduces loss that impedes performance. Although vendors have introduced cable with greater "bendability," they too have minimum bend radii.

Loss events caused by over-bending fiber can be more difficult to find than breaks, especially in a multifiber trunk. An array of diagnostic tools can be used to verify to existence of a problem and then locate it if a problem is found.

The third real world factor to consider relative to pre-terminated fiber is the high likelihood of connector contamination or damage. It is very common for the fiber end-faces to become contaminated in the course of installation. If nothing else, the dust caps may transfer contamination to the fiber. Less commonly, though very dependent upon the installer's carefulness, scratching the end-face by dropping it, laying on a surface, cleaning with a dirty cloth, or a number of other actions during a typical installation.

Summary
The best practices for conventional fiber still pertain to preterminated fiber:
(1) always clean the connectors
(2) test fibers for correct polarity
(3) test fibers for loss against your loss budget
(4) test fiber links sequentially as you install them
(5) inspect and clean all fibers

If you take these steps, you will at a minimum validate the factory warranty and take a giant step towards assuring the integrity of your new pre-terminated fiber infrastructure.

Download PDF»